12mm Coin Cell Breakout on Trinket M0
Moderators: adafruit_support_bill, adafruit

Please be positive and constructive with your questions and comments.

12mm Coin Cell Breakout on Trinket M0

by Virtuous70 on Sat Apr 20, 2019 2:44 pm

Hello,
I'm exploring the most compact way to light 3 LEDs. They will only be active for a few seconds at a time, and then not very often, so I'm hoping to do this with a small coin battery.
I'm new to what Adafruit offers, but I was thinking about a Trinket M0 with the LEDs attached, all switched on using Adafruit's tilt-ball switch. (Needs to operate with a tilt switch).
Is it a simple task to solder the 12mm coin cell breakout board (no switch) directly to the Trinket M0? I'm looking at the pins on each and not seeing a simple connection option like their JST-PH connector.
Or is there a better/smaller way?
Thanks

Virtuous70

Re: 12mm Coin Cell Breakout on Trinket M0

by adafruit_support_mike on Sun Apr 21, 2019 12:13 am

Virtuous70 wrote:Is it a simple task to solder the 12mm coin cell breakout board (no switch) directly to the Trinket M0?

Sure.. just connect the coin cell breakout's + and - pins to 3V and GND on the Trinket M0.

You might run into some problems if you want to use the tilt-ball sensor to control power to the Trinket M0. The ball switch connection is sensitive to bumping, and any interruption will force the Trinket M0 to reboot.

adafruit_support_mike

by Virtuous70 on Sun Apr 21, 2019 12:51 am

Ah, okay. Thanks. Can I just connect the tilt switch to one of the input pins and have that activate the LEDs? Thanks for the warning about instability.

Virtuous70

by Virtuous70 on Sun Apr 21, 2019 7:34 pm

As I said, I'm pretty inexperienced here... I tried assembling the code using blocks so I could see if it worked in the makecode simulator. Eventually, I got it to work when I click the input button, but when I release the button, I want all three LEDs to go off, and they just stay on.