Help needed please!

Adafruit's tiny microcontroller platform. Please tell us which board you are using.
For CircuitPython issues, ask in the Adafruit CircuitPython forum.

Moderators: adafruit_support_bill, adafruit

Please be positive and constructive with your questions and comments.
mariomillerjr

Help needed please!

Post by mariomillerjr »

Hello every one. I’m not sure if I’m even posting this in the right section, but I’m fairly new to all of this. For my project I have two LED’s that I want connected to the same power source, but I want each one to be activated by its own switch. It’s for a nerf Stryfe blaster mod. I’ll have one LED that’s activated by a lever switch when the magazine is inserted and another LED that’s activated by a Hall effect sensor to indicate when the darts have run out. I want them to be connected to the same power source.. how can I go about doing this as simple and compact as possible?

adafruit_support_bill

Re: Help needed please!

Post by adafruit_support_bill »

Connect each anode to your positive power supply via a current limiting resistor.
Connect the cathode of one to ground via the lever switch.
Connect the cathode of the other to the output of your Hall sensor.

dastels

Post by dastels »

First, read this if you haven't yet: https://learn.adafruit.com/all-about-leds.

Now to use the LEDs in your situation.

Slightly different from Bill's response, but electrically equivalent. The main point is that you have two circuits of a LED, a resistor, and a switch between the positive and ground of your power source.