BLE MIDI with Feather Bluefruit nRF52
Moderators: adafruit_support_bill, adafruit

Please be positive and constructive with your questions and comments.

BLE MIDI with Feather Bluefruit nRF52

by harrymcd391 on Mon Jun 15, 2020 1:14 pm

Hey!! total noob here!!! Just was having some ideas about making midi devices that work over bluetooth and this seemed like a great start!!

I wired up the board and connected it it to my comp over USB, however, my computer doesn't seem to realize that the board is there.

I have the Arduino IDE updated to 1.8, the board flashes when it is connected to power.

When I try to give it compiled code, I get an error saying:

"Upgrading target on COM4 with DFU package C:\Users\13154\AppData\Local\Temp\arduino_build_928274\blinky.ino.zip. Flow control is disabled, Single bank, Touch disabled
Timed out waiting for acknowledgement from device.

Failed to upgrade target. Error is: Attempting to use a port that is not open
Traceback (most recent call last):
File "nordicsemi\__main__.py", line 294, in serial
File "nordicsemi\dfu\dfu.py", line 235, in dfu_send_images
File "nordicsemi\dfu\dfu.py", line 203, in _dfu_send_image
File "nordicsemi\dfu\dfu_transport_serial.py", line 155, in send_init_packet
File "nordicsemi\dfu\dfu_transport_serial.py", line 241, in send_packet
File "site-packages\serial\serialwin32.py", line 304, in write
serial.serialutil.SerialException: Attempting to use a port that is not open

Possible causes:
- Selected Bootloader version does not match the one on Bluefruit device.
Please upgrade the Bootloader or select correct version in Tools->Bootloader.
- Baud rate must be 115200, Flow control must be off.
- Target is not in DFU mode. Ground DFU pin and RESET and release both to enter DFU mode."

recommendations?? Thank you!!

harrymcd391

Re: BLE MIDI with Feather Bluefruit nRF52

by mikeysklar on Mon Jun 15, 2020 2:30 pm

Hi harrymcd391,