Winc1500 breakout board "not present" when connected to Ardu

For CircuitPython issues, ask in the Adafruit CircuitPython forum.

Moderators: adafruit_support_bill, adafruit

Please be positive and constructive with your questions and comments.
Locked
User avatar
OleJB
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Aug 20, 2021 4:55 am

Winc1500 breakout board "not present" when connected to Ardu

Post by OleJB »

Hi

I have connected a "Adafruit WINC1500 WiFi Shield for Arduino" and a MKRZero. But when i run the "CheckWifi101FirmwareVersion" from the wifi101 library i get "wifi shield : NOT PRESENT". I have added "wifiSetPins...." to the code aswell.
What could i be doing wrong?

Are the leds on the shield supposed to blink when i connect 3v3 or run a program on the arduino? The leds on mine havent been on at all.

Pictures of my wiring: https://fosstech-my.sharepoint.com/:f:/ ... g?e=0vNT60

User avatar
adafruit_support_mike
 
Posts: 67454
Joined: Thu Feb 11, 2010 2:51 pm

Re: Winc1500 breakout board "not present" when connected to

Post by adafruit_support_mike »

As a sanity check, verify your USB cable by using it to connect some other, known-working device to the computer.

There’s a plague of charge-only cables out there with USB connectors at both ends, but no wires for the data signals. People get caught by them a lot.

Just swapping cables has no diagnostic value. The current record is someone who had to try ten cables before finding one that worked. Only a working USB connection can rule out a charge-only cable.

User avatar
OleJB
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Aug 20, 2021 4:55 am

Re: Winc1500 breakout board "not present" when connected to

Post by OleJB »

Thanks for the relpy !
The USB cable works for uploading my sketches to my Arduino Nano 33 BLE. I dont think its the problem.

User avatar
adafruit_support_mike
 
Posts: 67454
Joined: Thu Feb 11, 2010 2:51 pm

Re: Winc1500 breakout board "not present" when connected to

Post by adafruit_support_mike »

That does sound like the cable is good, thanks.

From the photos you posted, it looks like you’ve connected SPI and power to the 2x3 header at the end of the Shield. Try connecting SPI to pins 11-13 along the side, and power to the pins on the other side. Letks see how it behaves with signals coming in the way they woukd if the Shield was olugged into an Uno.

User avatar
OleJB
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Aug 20, 2021 4:55 am

Re: Winc1500 breakout board "not present" when connected to

Post by OleJB »

I have cut the jumpers to the 2x3 SPI pins. And soldered the jumpers and connected to 11/12/13 instead. I have added "Wifi.setPins" to the code and tried a few different combinations of I/O. (normally its wifi.setPins(8,7,4,2) but i dont think that works on mine because i have MOSI on 8. ive tried IRQ on 7, CS on 5 and RST on 4. That still gives me "Wifi shield not present" and when i try to run the updater i get "error erasing flash memory".

What the combination of I/O pin that should work on MKR Zero? or do you have an idea to what else could be wrong?

Thank you for helping :)

User avatar
adafruit_support_mike
 
Posts: 67454
Joined: Thu Feb 11, 2010 2:51 pm

Re: Winc1500 breakout board "not present" when connected to

Post by adafruit_support_mike »

Well, the first order of business is to make sure the SPI signals line up correctly.

The names for SPI signals are currently shifting to replace ‘master’ and ‘slave’ with the less cringeworthy ‘central’ and ‘peripheral’:

MOSI -> COPI
MISO -> CIPO

The Mkr Zero pinout uses the new versions for pins 8, 9, and 10:

https://content.arduino.cc/assets/Pinou ... latest.pdf

The CS signal can be on any pin, but has to match the hardware.

User avatar
OleJB
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Aug 20, 2021 4:55 am

Re: Winc1500 breakout board "not present" when connected to

Post by OleJB »

I have connected:
Arduino Winc1500
MOSI (8) - MOSI (11)
MISO (10) - MISO (12)
SCK (9) - CLK (13)
7 - IRQ (7)
5 - RST (5)
4 - CS (10)
GND - GND
VCC - 3v

User avatar
adafruit_support_mike
 
Posts: 67454
Joined: Thu Feb 11, 2010 2:51 pm

Re: Winc1500 breakout board "not present" when connected to

Post by adafruit_support_mike »

Double-check your code to make sure it agrees with all those assignments. Assuming things do match, post a photo showing your hardware and connections. 800x600 images usually work best.

User avatar
OleJB
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Aug 20, 2021 4:55 am

Re: Winc1500 breakout board "not present" when connected to

Post by OleJB »

Double checked the wifi.setPins() in my code according to wifi101 library on arduino.com. Everything was as it should be.

Here is some pictures of my setup:
Attachments
20210830_153048.jpg
20210830_153048.jpg (984.08 KiB) Viewed 135 times
20210830_153033 (1).jpg
20210830_153033 (1).jpg (996.53 KiB) Viewed 135 times
20210830_153022.jpg
20210830_153022.jpg (986.6 KiB) Viewed 135 times

Locked
Please be positive and constructive with your questions and comments.

Return to “Wireless: WiFi and Bluetooth”