Airlift Featherwing not working with Feather M4 Express

For CircuitPython issues, ask in the Adafruit CircuitPython forum.

Moderators: adafruit_support_bill, adafruit

Please be positive and constructive with your questions and comments.
mmx009

Airlift Featherwing not working with Feather M4 Express

Post by mmx009 »

Hello folks,

This is my first time doing Arduino stuff, so hopefully I don't make a foul of myself. I have a Feather M4 express that I'm trying to use with a Airlift through SPI. I've soldered the header strip on both boards and also tested for continuity, so I assume that my soldering work works. When I connect the USB cable to the Feather M4, I don't see the LED on the Airlift light up. I assume the LED should turn on signaling that it's powered.

I tried running the wifi connectivity code found through the different tutorials, and I get the following error:

Code: Select all

code.py output:
ESP32 SPI webclient test
Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "code.py", line 50, in <module>
  File "adafruit_esp32spi/adafruit_esp32spi.py", line 335, in status
  File "adafruit_esp32spi/adafruit_esp32spi.py", line 325, in _send_command_get_response
  File "adafruit_esp32spi/adafruit_esp32spi.py", line 308, in _wait_response_cmd
  File "adafruit_esp32spi/adafruit_esp32spi.py", line 292, in _wait_response_cmd
  File "adafruit_esp32spi/adafruit_esp32spi.py", line 271, in _wait_spi_char
RuntimeError: Timed out waiting for SPI char
After failing to get it working, I tried to upgrade the firmware using the pass-through method with the Feather M4. I soldered the 3 pins on the back, and set the M4 on bootloader mode, copied Airlift-Feather-FeatherWing-Passthru.UF2 over to the FEATHERBOOT drive. After that I then tried to use esptool.py to copy the firmware, but failed with the following error:

Code: Select all

$ esptool.py --port /dev/ttyACM1 --before no_reset --baud 115200 write_flash 0 NINA_W102-1.7.4.bin
esptool.py v3.1
Serial port /dev/ttyACM1