0

Ting SIM not work with SIM808
Moderators: adafruit_support_bill, adafruit

Please be positive and constructive with your questions and comments.

Ting SIM not work with SIM808

by ghall on Fri Jan 11, 2019 8:01 pm

Hi guys,
I bought a Ting SIM card from you with my SIM808 + battery + antennas. It appears the SIM doesn't work with it. I called Ting and they said it must be a HW incompatibility issue and that I need to contact you. I have it hooked up to a terminal with a USB console cable. I can read CCID etc (AT+CCID) but AT+CSQ says 0,0 and AT+COPS? says 0. if i try to send text msg with AT command i get +CMS ERROR: unknown. I am in coverage area of Ting. they also advised that if it was a compatible device i should see the device name on my Ting account page, which I do not.

Please advise. Much appreciated. I really want this thing to work.

ghall
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Jan 11, 2019 7:45 pm

Re: Ting SIM not work with SIM808

by ghall on Fri Jan 11, 2019 11:00 pm

Does Ting still work with sim808? If not, y'all should update your storefront.

ghall
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Jan 11, 2019 7:45 pm

Re: Ting SIM not work with SIM808

by adafruit_support_mike on Sat Jan 12, 2019 4:30 am

Ting cards work with the FONA 808, so it isn't a device compatibility problem.

As a sanity check, post a photo showing the SIM card in the FONA's connector please. 800x600 images usually work best.

adafruit_support_mike
 
Posts: 55974
Joined: Thu Feb 11, 2010 2:51 pm

Re: Ting SIM not work with SIM808

by ghall on Sat Jan 12, 2019 4:41 pm

attached is picture of sim card in device. can you recommend some diagnostic commands or something to figure out what is wrong? still no function on phone, but AT+CSQ returns 5 signal strength now.
Attachments
IMG_20190112_123110_2.jpg
IMG_20190112_123110_2.jpg (472.91 KiB) Viewed 68 times

ghall
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Jan 11, 2019 7:45 pm

Re: Ting SIM not work with SIM808

by ghall on Sat Jan 12, 2019 4:59 pm

the phone started working for no explainable reason. :) however, the Ting rep told me over the phone that my device should be named on the 2nd half of the account page if its working. Does your ting page look like this? here is mine.
Attachments
Capture.JPG
Capture.JPG (64.46 KiB) Viewed 67 times

ghall
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Jan 11, 2019 7:45 pm

Re: Ting SIM not work with SIM808

by adafruit_support_mike on Sun Jan 13, 2019 1:32 am

Mine has the device name 'SIM808' between the nickname and GSM columns. Try clocking the 'Edit' button and reloading the FONA's ID on that page.

adafruit_support_mike
 
Posts: 55974
Joined: Thu Feb 11, 2010 2:51 pm

Re: Ting SIM not work with SIM808

by ghall on Tue Jan 15, 2019 5:38 pm

cool thanks. i just checked and mine says sim808 where yours does now. i am not sure what changed, maybe something on Ting end. Thanks for the responses.

ghall
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Jan 11, 2019 7:45 pm

Re: Ting SIM not work with SIM808

by adafruit_support_mike on Wed Jan 16, 2019 12:44 am

Glad to hear it's working for you. Happy hacking!

adafruit_support_mike
 
Posts: 55974
Joined: Thu Feb 11, 2010 2:51 pm

Please be positive and constructive with your questions and comments.