0

Couldn't find FONA with Fonatest
Moderators: adafruit_support_bill, adafruit

Please be positive and constructive with your questions and comments.

Couldn't find FONA with Fonatest

by mromero on Thu Sep 10, 2020 2:10 pm

I have an arduino uno and the SIM800H FONA shield a 3.7V lipo and the antenna.

On the arduino the green power on LED I on
ON the FONA Shield(SIM800H):
charge led- orange
done led-green
power led-greenish?
net led-off
I downloaded the FONAtest sketch making sure i had the FONA library installed but all i get is:

FONA basic test
Initializing....(May take 3 seconds)
Attempting to open comm with ATs
---> AT
<---
---> AT
<---
---> AT
<---
---> AT
<---
---> AT
<---
---> AT
<---
---> AT
<---
---> AT
<---
---> AT
<---
---> AT
<---
---> AT
<---
---> AT
<---
---> AT
<---
---> AT
<---
---> AT
<---
---> AT
<---
---> AT
<---
---> AT
<---
---> AT
<---
---> AT
<---
---> AT
<---
---> AT
<---
---> AT
<---
---> AT
<---
---> AT
<---
---> AT
<---
---> AT
<---
---> AT
<---
Timeout: No response to AT... last ditch attempt.
---> AT
<---
---> AT
<---
---> AT
<---
---> ATE0
<---
---> ATE0
<---
Couldn't find FONA
Attachments
FONA.jpg
FONA.jpg (121.44 KiB) Viewed 413 times

mromero
 
Posts: 44
Joined: Fri Mar 18, 2016 12:10 pm

Re: Couldn't find FONA with Fonatest

by rskup on Thu Sep 10, 2020 3:44 pm

I've only used the FONA 3G, but do you have to flip that switch from charge to run? From the pic it looks like it's on charge.

rskup
 
Posts: 84
Joined: Sat Aug 01, 2020 9:04 pm

Re: Couldn't find FONA with Fonatest

by mromero on Fri Sep 11, 2020 8:19 am

I did not thing that had anything to do with it as from what i can see that only controls if the lipo charges or runs but i switched it and got the same error Fona not found

mromero
 
Posts: 44
Joined: Fri Mar 18, 2016 12:10 pm

Re: Couldn't find FONA with Fonatest

by rskup on Fri Sep 11, 2020 9:42 am

Was hoping that might help. I did find it in the guide:

https://learn.adafruit.com/adafruit-fona-800-shield?view=all

under the "Charging Circuitry" section:

"To run the Arduino+Shield off of LiPoly, set the switch to RUN"

Sorry about that, I'm more familiar with the FONA 3G.

However, it really does seem odd the Net LED is not blinking in some manner, I see in the guide above that on this board the KEY pin is tied to ground (unlike the FONA 3G), so if all is well, it should try to connect as soon as it gets power (described in the Shield I/O Breakouts section). And then that Net LED should blink in some manner, regardless of what the UNO is doing.

The only other thing I can think of, and again it's related to my FONA 3G experience, is to make sure the LiPo is well charged. Otherwise it won't connect even though the board seems to be powered up.

rskup
 
Posts: 84
Joined: Sat Aug 01, 2020 9:04 pm

Re: Couldn't find FONA with Fonatest

by mromero on Mon Sep 14, 2020 6:26 pm

Yeah something is definitely wrong with the bord. I had anotherone and after installing the headers it was found immediately so something happened because it was working ... but i have no idea how to reset. I pressed the big button which should have restored to factory settings but it still did nothing

mromero
 
Posts: 44
Joined: Fri Mar 18, 2016 12:10 pm

Re: Couldn't find FONA with Fonatest

by bernard4_juggling on Fri Feb 12, 2021 1:11 pm

Hello,
I just posted a message explaining why the Fonatest doesn't work and how to make it work.
I explain also some other solutions or improvements.
Look for : "Couldn't find FONA with Fonatest, SOLUTION and other solutio".

I hope this will help.

bernard4_juggling
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Feb 12, 2021 12:47 pm

Please be positive and constructive with your questions and comments.