Due to high demand, expect some shipping delays at this time - orders may not ship for up to 2-3 business days.
0

Missing grid lines on graph block
Moderators: adafruit_support_bill, adafruit

Forum rules
If you're posting code, please make sure your code does not include your Adafruit IO Active Key or WiFi network credentials.
Please be positive and constructive with your questions and comments.

Missing grid lines on graph block

by chrisshawvfx on Wed Jan 26, 2022 4:24 pm

There seems to have been an update to the graph block. It's moved the legend to the top, which I don't object to, but gridlines have disappeared, which I do

chrisshawvfx
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Nov 11, 2019 7:00 am

Re: Missing grid lines on graph block

by nagrom78 on Thu Jan 27, 2022 1:34 am

chrisshawvfx wrote:There seems to have been an update to the graph block. It's moved the legend to the top, which I don't object to, but gridlines have disappeared, which I do


I don’t think it’s intentional something is definitely acting up today. Grid lines disappeared and and the text and graph lines look “fuzzy” on my iOS and Windows devices. Everything looked good for years until today.

nagrom78
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Apr 17, 2012 1:32 pm

Re: Missing grid lines on graph block

by jwcooper on Fri Jan 28, 2022 11:41 am

We did update the charting library recently (same library, newer version). We're looking into the reports. I can confirm the grid line issue and will hopefully push a fix for it today.

Thanks for reporting!

jwcooper
 
Posts: 915
Joined: Tue May 01, 2012 9:08 pm

Re: Missing grid lines on graph block

by chrisshawvfx on Fri Jan 28, 2022 12:00 pm

jwcooper wrote:We did update the charting library recently (same library, newer version). We're looking into the reports. I can confirm the grid line issue and will hopefully push a fix for it today.

Thanks for reporting!

Thanks. It seems substantially slower too, particularly on mobile browsers

chrisshawvfx
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Nov 11, 2019 7:00 am

Re: Missing grid lines on graph block

by jwcooper on Fri Jan 28, 2022 12:39 pm

chrisshawvfx wrote:
jwcooper wrote:We did update the charting library recently (same library, newer version). We're looking into the reports. I can confirm the grid line issue and will hopefully push a fix for it today.

Thanks for reporting!

Thanks. It seems substantially slower too, particularly on mobile browsers


I'm not able to reproduce this yet, but will keep trying. We went from a beta release of a charting library to a much more recent version of the same charting library. The change on IO was quite minimal, so I have at least something to narrow it down a bit.

jwcooper
 
Posts: 915
Joined: Tue May 01, 2012 9:08 pm

Re: Missing grid lines on graph block

by chrisshawvfx on Fri Jan 28, 2022 2:25 pm

jwcooper wrote:
chrisshawvfx wrote:
jwcooper wrote:We did update the charting library recently (same library, newer version). We're looking into the reports. I can confirm the grid line issue and will hopefully push a fix for it today.

Thanks for reporting!

Thanks. It seems substantially slower too, particularly on mobile browsers


I'm not able to reproduce this yet, but will keep trying. We went from a beta release of a charting library to a much more recent version of the same charting library. The change on IO was quite minimal, so I have at least something to narrow it down a bit.


Grid lines are back, thanks!

Interactively navigating to a dashboard seems pretty quick. It's a reload that takes a long time

chrisshawvfx
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Nov 11, 2019 7:00 am

Re: Missing grid lines on graph block

by nagrom78 on Fri Jan 28, 2022 3:14 pm

Grid lines are back on mine too. Big issue is the loading time is very very slow up to 45 seconds to load the page on a 1.2Gbs internet connection.

nagrom78
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Apr 17, 2012 1:32 pm

Re: Missing grid lines on graph block

by jwcooper on Fri Jan 28, 2022 3:50 pm

Do you have a public dashboard I could test with?

If not, can you describe how many charts or feeds you have on your dashboards?

jwcooper
 
Posts: 915
Joined: Tue May 01, 2012 9:08 pm

Re: Missing grid lines on graph block

by jwcooper on Fri Jan 28, 2022 6:08 pm

We've temporarily rolled back the charting changes until we can figure out the slow loading issues. Thanks for reporting this!

jwcooper
 
Posts: 915
Joined: Tue May 01, 2012 9:08 pm

Re: Missing grid lines on graph block

by nagrom78 on Fri Jan 28, 2022 6:17 pm

Thank you for looking into this! I can report that everything appears to be back to normal now!

nagrom78
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Apr 17, 2012 1:32 pm

Re: Missing grid lines on graph block

by chrisshawvfx on Fri Feb 04, 2022 2:09 pm

jwcooper wrote:We've temporarily rolled back the charting changes until we can figure out the slow loading issues. Thanks for reporting this!

I see we're back to the new library. Gridlines have vanished again, and my dashboard takes about 17s to load, rather than the 4s with the old library

chrisshawvfx
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Nov 11, 2019 7:00 am

Re: Missing grid lines on graph block

by nagrom78 on Fri Feb 04, 2022 3:41 pm

Having the exact same issue again. Things were great for a week now it takes about 20 seconds to load and grid lines are gone.

nagrom78
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Apr 17, 2012 1:32 pm

Re: Missing grid lines on graph block

by jwcooper on Fri Feb 04, 2022 4:00 pm

chrisshawvfx wrote:
jwcooper wrote:We've temporarily rolled back the charting changes until we can figure out the slow loading issues. Thanks for reporting this!

I see we're back to the new library. Gridlines have vanished again, and my dashboard takes about 17s to load, rather than the 4s with the old library


You're right, and that was in error. We've deployed the fixed charts again. Thanks for reporting!

jwcooper
 
Posts: 915
Joined: Tue May 01, 2012 9:08 pm

Re: Missing grid lines on graph block

by sipan1313 on Tue Feb 08, 2022 5:37 pm

If not all boards have adafruit_bus_device, it would be nice to see which boards (in the module support matrix) have adafruit_bus_device builtin. However, that might be a more complicated solution given that the matrix seems to be generated with a py script (I think). So, that should probably be a separate issue.

The presence or absence of adafruit_bus_device is included in the latest (7.0.0) docs. There is also a very nice dynamic search capability: https://circuitpython.readthedocs.io/en ... atrix.html.

If you would like to submit a simple PR for the doc errors, that would be great. If not, we can do it.

sipan1313
 
Posts: 18
Joined: Sun Jan 30, 2022 4:37 pm

Please be positive and constructive with your questions and comments.