Please note: Friday June 18 is a holiday celebrating Juneteenth, please allow extra time for your order to arrive and plan accordingly.
0

Feed Filter Bug
Moderators: adafruit_support_bill, adafruit

Forum rules
If you're posting code, please make sure your code does not include your Adafruit IO Active Key or WiFi network credentials.
Please be positive and constructive with your questions and comments.

Feed Filter Bug

by iethis on Tue Dec 15, 2020 5:02 pm

I have seen this buried in some other topic and reported by a few people and then the subject changed....

Using the date pickers presented on a feed to filter by date range will cause a JS error which leaves the user with a black screen.

The date pickers are (not well supported) rendered by the browser (chrome) when the input type is datetime-local. The key there being local. The rest of the JS is hard coded to a en_us locale.... So I would expect anyone trying to use these filters with a locale that uses a non US format will have this issue.

Needs to retrieve locale and then use code for that locale.

Or, just give us the option to use text input and we can put in the dates in a specified format.

iethis
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Jul 07, 2020 5:50 am

Re: Feed Filter Bug

by brubell on Wed Dec 16, 2020 11:29 am

Using the date pickers presented on a feed to filter by date range will cause a JS error which leaves the user with a black screen.


Could you please post a screenshot of this error?

brubell
 
Posts: 1381
Joined: Fri Jul 17, 2015 10:33 pm

Re: Feed Filter Bug

by iethis on Wed Dec 16, 2020 11:59 am

brubell wrote:Could you please post a screenshot of this error?


sure.

Clipboard01.jpg
Clipboard01.jpg (5.32 KiB) Viewed 403 times


:D

I guess the devtools output is more useful...

2.jpg
2.jpg (26.19 KiB) Viewed 403 times

iethis
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Jul 07, 2020 5:50 am

Re: Feed Filter Bug

by brubell on Wed Dec 16, 2020 12:35 pm

Ok, thanks! I've filed a bug report internally for this issue and will update the topic when I have an update.

brubell
 
Posts: 1381
Joined: Fri Jul 17, 2015 10:33 pm

Re: Feed Filter Bug

by alexglowee on Tue Mar 30, 2021 8:42 am

Hi,

Is there an update ? I have exactly the same problem.

alexglowee
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Mar 25, 2021 7:22 am

Re: Feed Filter Bug

by brubell on Fri Apr 02, 2021 9:23 am

alexglowee wrote:Hi,

Is there an update ? I have exactly the same problem.

No update or ETA, sorry!

brubell
 
Posts: 1381
Joined: Fri Jul 17, 2015 10:33 pm

Re: Feed Filter Bug

by alexglowee on Fri Apr 02, 2021 9:44 am

Hi,

So, currently, there isn't a method to filter the feed?

I wanted to pay for an IO+ account but this option is very important for us :/

alexglowee
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Mar 25, 2021 7:22 am

Re: Feed Filter Bug

by brubell on Fri Apr 02, 2021 9:54 am

alexglowee wrote:Hi,

So, currently, there isn't a method to filter the feed?

I wanted to pay for an IO+ account but this option is very important for us :/


Not from the website, however, you can download the feed's data as .csv and filter in excel, or as .json.

brubell
 
Posts: 1381
Joined: Fri Jul 17, 2015 10:33 pm

Re: Feed Filter Bug

by alexglowee on Fri Apr 02, 2021 10:09 am

Of course but if a sensor feed is active 24h/24 and 7D/7 good luck to filter your data to have for example only one hour.

I have already tested this solution and Excel is very slow when there is too much data...

alexglowee
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Mar 25, 2021 7:22 am

Re: Feed Filter Bug

by adruino on Sun Jun 06, 2021 9:37 pm

Just giving this a bump.
I would like to filter my data and eliminate on spurious value in a few data feeds.
I updated my device firmware and introduced a bug that sent a few obviously bad values which I'd like to delete from the feed.

-Adrian

adruino
 
Posts: 15
Joined: Wed Aug 20, 2014 8:56 am

Re: Feed Filter Bug

by jwcooper on Tue Jun 15, 2021 11:10 am

We've deployed a change to temporarily remove datetime-local from those inputs. For now, you can edit the date and time as iso8601 date format, which is the default with how those forms should populate.

Eventually, we'll get a proper date widget on there, but wanted to just get a fix out there.

jwcooper
 
Posts: 784
Joined: Tue May 01, 2012 9:08 pm

Please be positive and constructive with your questions and comments.