0

Stream block behavior changed, reports only 1 line now
Moderators: adafruit_support_bill, adafruit

Forum rules
If you're posting code, please make sure your code does not include your Adafruit IO Active Key or WiFi network credentials.
Please be positive and constructive with your questions and comments.

Stream block behavior changed, reports only 1 line now

by capnorth on Sun Feb 28, 2021 1:51 pm

Hi Adafruit IO Community!

For months my dashboard has been working wonderfully, reporting events and displaying about a dozen text events in a stream block. About 1 week ago, its behavior changed and now it only consists of a single line, with just the latest text reported. I have checked and changed feed history switching it on and off, but without success as only 1 line of text is ever reported. Does anyone know what is causing this behaviour?

Thanks in advance, and by the way, thanks to Adafruit for providing these fantastic tools and tutorials!

Mark

[img]
SmartSelect_20210228-092406_Chrome.jpg
[/img]
[img]
SmartSelect_20210228-092510_Chrome.jpg
[/img]
Attachments
SmartSelect_20210228-092510_Chrome.jpg
SmartSelect_20210228-092510_Chrome.jpg (304.36 KiB) Viewed 116 times
SmartSelect_20210228-092406_Chrome.jpg
SmartSelect_20210228-092406_Chrome.jpg (135.27 KiB) Viewed 116 times

capnorth
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Nov 06, 2013 2:06 pm

Re: Stream block behavior changed, reports only 1 line now

by jwcooper on Mon Mar 01, 2021 2:25 pm

Hi, thanks for the feedback. Interestingly enough, the actual bug was that we were showing historical data on the stream block. The original design was to only show live data coming in post-refresh. That bug was fixed last week, as you noticed, and was a bug with most blocks that was an issue for us behind the scenes.

That being said, we're going to add a new field when creating/editing stream blocks that will let you set how many hours of history you'd like to load when initializing the stream block on page load. This new feature should be deployed later today.

jwcooper
 
Posts: 774
Joined: Tue May 01, 2012 9:08 pm

Re: Stream block behavior changed, reports only 1 line now

by capnorth on Tue Mar 02, 2021 7:00 pm

Thanks for the explanation, JWC!

I look forward to the ability to specify the number of history hours to include in the stream block. I have not seen this option on the edit page yet. Has it been released, or am I still missing something?

Thanks again for the Adafruit team's great work!

Mark

capnorth
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Nov 06, 2013 2:06 pm

Re: Stream block behavior changed, reports only 1 line now

by jwcooper on Wed Mar 03, 2021 12:59 pm

It should be there now (yesterday afternoon).

Here is what it looks like:
Screenshot_2021-03-03 Adafruit IO.png
Screenshot_2021-03-03 Adafruit IO.png (90.77 KiB) Viewed 76 times

jwcooper
 
Posts: 774
Joined: Tue May 01, 2012 9:08 pm

Re: Stream block behavior changed, reports only 1 line now

by capnorth on Wed Mar 03, 2021 3:08 pm

This time specified history for the stream block feature works great for me now! Thanks!

Mark

capnorth
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Nov 06, 2013 2:06 pm

Please be positive and constructive with your questions and comments.