mqtt.connect() fails to connect returns -1

Moderators: adafruit_support_bill, adafruit

Forum rules
If you're posting code, please make sure your code does not include your Adafruit IO Active Key or WiFi network credentials.
jimk123

mqtt.connect() fails to connect returns -1

Post by jimk123 »

I have been using adafruit dataio for several years and have about a dozen adafruit esp32 boards deployed in remote locations and working great. About a year ago I wrote a new sketch using adafruit data io on my win10b machine and it worked fine. Not sure if this is related but a month or so ago I bought a Adafruit QT Py ESP32-S2 an had to upgrade the ESP32 board manager. Then I was adding a new feature to my mqtt sketch on the win10b machine the other day and it will no longer connect. I stripped out all the other code except for a basic connect and publish. It compiles and runs ok on my win10a PC but fails to connect on the win10b machine, it is failing on the mqtt.connect line in the code, I turned on debug in the Adafruit_MQTT.h file and this is the output on the failing machine in the serial window (see attached file)

win10a
arduino ide 1.8.5
C:\Users\Jim\AppData\Local\Arduino15\packages\esp32\hardware\esp32\1.0.4
adafruit io arduino 4.0.2
datafrut mqtt 1.0.3

win10b
arduino ide 1.8.10
C:\Users\JimKruk\AppData\Local\Arduino15\packages\esp32\hardware\esp32\2.0.2
datafrut mqtt 1.0.3

I have been troubleshooting this for days and cannot think of why it no longer works on the win10b machine, other that the upgrade to the boards manager a few weeks ago but not sure how to further trouble shoot this ? I am really reluctant to start uninstalling code for fear of breaking other things on this machine.
Thanks
serial output.txt
(869 Bytes) Downloaded 29 times

Code: Select all

[attachment=0]mqtt.txt[/attachment]
Attachments
mqtt.txt
(5.39 KiB) Downloaded 12 times

jimk123

Re: mqtt.connect() fails to connect returns -1

Post by jimk123 »

btw I noticed in the serial output: