Black Lives Matter - Action and Equality. ... Adafruit is open and shipping.

500 Internal Server Error from the Pyton API
Moderators: adafruit_support_bill, adafruit

Forum rules
If you're posting code, please make sure your code does not include your Adafruit IO Active Key or WiFi network credentials.
Please be positive and constructive with your questions and comments.

500 Internal Server Error from the Pyton API

by drwahl on Sun Feb 07, 2016 4:56 pm

I'm new to AIO, and I'm trying to run a simple Python example straight from https://github.com/adafruit/io-client-python:

Code: Select all | TOGGLE FULL SIZE
# Import library and create instance of REST client.
from Adafruit_IO import Client
aio = Client('YOUR ADAFRUIT IO KEY')

# Add the value 98.6 to the feed 'Temperature'.
aio.send('Temperature', 98.6)

I created a feed called Temperature, and inserted my key in the Client function call. I'm getting the following error when I try to run the script:

Adafruit_IO.errors.RequestError: Adafruit IO request failed: 500 Internal Server Error

Am I doing something wrong, or is there a server issue of some sort?

drwahl

Re: 500 Internal Server Error from the Pyton API

by drwahl on Mon Feb 08, 2016 1:19 pm

I ran the unit tests included in the github repo, see attached file. Still having major issues.

Ran 30 tests in 59.255s

FAILED (failures=2, errors=14, skipped=1, expected failures=5)

Any ideas?
Attachments
test.txt
(13.17 KiB) Downloaded 143 times

drwahl

Re: 500 Internal Server Error from the Pyton API

by tdicola on Mon Feb 08, 2016 8:32 pm

A 500 error might be a temporary server problem, if you try the simpletest.py example (from here: https://github.com/adafruit/io-client-python) now does it still give you trouble? I just tried it (after adding my adafruit IO key to it) and it seems to work OK.