๐ŸŽ„โ›„โ„๏ธ๐ŸŽ It's beginning to look a lot like ADABOX-mas! The next ADABOX from Adafruit ships soon! Get yours now, or give as a gift! ๐ŸŽ„โ›„โ„๏ธ๐ŸŽ
0

Help needed - after Board/Lib update Feather M0 can't upload
Moderators: adafruit_support_bill, adafruit

Please be positive and constructive with your questions and comments.

Help needed - after Board/Lib update Feather M0 can't upload

by ramsh on Wed Jun 12, 2019 7:56 am

Dear Support,

I truly need your assistance! I have a project that was working great for the last three years, today I had to make some updates and during the work I've updated the boards and libs, from that moment on my project couldn't be compiled so I tried to use blink and even that doesn't work (compiled but couldn't uploaded to the board), currently the red led is flashing (no cause of the blink that couldn't be compiled, watch here) I've updated the Adafruit SAMD Boards ver 1.5.0 and WICHED ver 0.66, I've also updated lib to 1.0.8 and all stooped working, when clicking the get board info I do get:

BN: Adafruit Feather M0
VID: 0x239A
PID: 0x000B
SN: Upload any sketch to obtain it

but that's about all.

current programmer: "AVRISP mkll"

if I try to run the example of "feather_player" that i was using for a long time, now after successful compilation i get the following error:
Sketch uses 25508 bytes (9%) of program storage space. Maximum is 262144 bytes.
java.io.IOException: Cannot run program "{runtime.tools.bossac-1.7.0.path}/bossac": CreateProcess error=2, The system cannot find the file specified
at java.lang.ProcessBuilder.start(ProcessBuilder.java:1048)
at processing.app.helpers.ProcessUtils.exec(ProcessUtils.java:26)
at cc.arduino.packages.Uploader.executeUploadCommand(Uploader.java:129)
at cc.arduino.packages.uploaders.SerialUploader.runCommand(SerialUploader.java:383)
at cc.arduino.packages.uploaders.SerialUploader.uploadUsingPreferences(SerialUploader.java:197)
at cc.arduino.UploaderUtils.upload(UploaderUtils.java:77)
at processing.app.SketchController.upload(SketchController.java:732)
at processing.app.SketchController.exportApplet(SketchController.java:703)
at processing.app.Editor$UploadHandler.run(Editor.java:2070)
at java.lang.Thread.run(Thread.java:748)
Caused by: java.io.IOException: CreateProcess error=2, The system cannot find the file specified
at java.lang.ProcessImpl.create(Native Method)
at java.lang.ProcessImpl.<init>(ProcessImpl.java:386)
at java.lang.ProcessImpl.start(ProcessImpl.java:137)
at java.lang.ProcessBuilder.start(ProcessBuilder.java:1029)
... 9 more
An error occurred while uploading the sketch


same goes to Blink example:
Code: Select all | TOGGLE FULL SIZE
Build options changed, rebuilding all
Sketch uses 10784 bytes (4%) of program storage space. Maximum is 262144 bytes.
java.io.IOException: Cannot run program "{runtime.tools.bossac-1.7.0.path}/bossac": CreateProcess error=2, The system cannot find the file specified
   at java.lang.ProcessBuilder.start(ProcessBuilder.java:1048)
   at processing.app.helpers.ProcessUtils.exec(ProcessUtils.java:26)
   at cc.arduino.packages.Uploader.executeUploadCommand(Uploader.java:129)
   at cc.arduino.packages.uploaders.SerialUploader.runCommand(SerialUploader.java:383)
   at cc.arduino.packages.uploaders.SerialUploader.uploadUsingPreferences(SerialUploader.java:197)
   at cc.arduino.UploaderUtils.upload(UploaderUtils.java:77)
   at processing.app.SketchController.upload(SketchController.java:732)
   at processing.app.SketchController.exportApplet(SketchController.java:703)
   at processing.app.Editor$UploadHandler.run(Editor.java:2070)
   at java.lang.Thread.run(Thread.java:748)
Caused by: java.io.IOException: CreateProcess error=2, The system cannot find the file specified
   at java.lang.ProcessImpl.create(Native Method)
   at java.lang.ProcessImpl.<init>(ProcessImpl.java:386)
   at java.lang.ProcessImpl.start(ProcessImpl.java:137)
   at java.lang.ProcessBuilder.start(ProcessBuilder.java:1029)
   ... 9 more
An error occurred while uploading the sketch


since I've not used any of it during the last few years I don't recall how to go about this :( really need help to make it work again,

Looking forward to you support!!
Many thanks in advance!
Ram

Image

ramsh
 
Posts: 84
Joined: Fri Apr 29, 2016 5:17 am

Re: Help needed - after Board/Lib update Feather M0 can't up

by ramsh on Wed Jun 12, 2019 9:50 am

OK! managed to fix it all and get it to work.

deleted folder Arduino15 from C:\Users\Admin\AppData\Local
reinstall all broads per instructions here

consider this ticket close.

ramsh
 
Posts: 84
Joined: Fri Apr 29, 2016 5:17 am

Re: Help needed - after Board/Lib update Feather M0 can't up

by mhooten on Fri Jun 14, 2019 3:28 pm

I also had this problem, and I tried deleting the Arduino15 folder and reinstalling the boards, but it didn't help. After much searching, and some digging on my machine, I discovered that the "bossac-1.7.0" folder had been changed to "bossac-1.7.0-arduino3" in the Arduino15/packages/arduino/hardware/samd/1.8.1 folder. I fixed the issue by going into the Arduino15/packages/adafruit/hardware/samd/1.5.0/platform.txt file and changing the line that says:

Code: Select all | TOGGLE FULL SIZE
tools.bossac.path={runtime.tools.bossac-1.7.0.path}

to

Code: Select all | TOGGLE FULL SIZE
tools.bossac.path={runtime.tools.bossac-1.7.0-arduino3.path}

Sketches now compile and load to the Feather M0 without issue.

mhooten
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue May 27, 2014 3:19 pm

Re: Help needed - after Board/Lib update Feather M0 can't up

by elmwoodelec on Sat Jun 15, 2019 11:33 pm

mhooten wrote:I also had this problem, and I tried deleting the Arduino15 folder and reinstalling the boards, but it didn't help. After much searching, and some digging on my machine, I discovered that the "bossac-1.7.0" folder had been changed to "bossac-1.7.0-arduino3" in the Arduino15/packages/arduino/hardware/samd/1.8.1 folder. I fixed the issue by going into the Arduino15/packages/adafruit/hardware/samd/1.5.0/platform.txt file and changing the line that says:

Code: Select all | TOGGLE FULL SIZE
tools.bossac.path={runtime.tools.bossac-1.7.0.path}

to

Code: Select all | TOGGLE FULL SIZE
tools.bossac.path={runtime.tools.bossac-1.7.0-arduino3.path}

Sketches now compile and load to the Feather M0 without issue.


I had the same issues and this fix worked for me as well.
FWIW, I did a clean install of the IDE on a virtual machine that never had the IDE, I installed the Adafruit SAMD Board Manager as well as the Arduino SAMD Board Manager, and I still had the bossac issue. Everybody, save yourself some hassle, don't bother deleting all your Arduino15 files, just edit samd/1.5.0/platforms.txt as described above. That is, until the bug gets fixed in 1.5.1. :-)

elmwoodelec
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Tue Sep 27, 2016 1:11 pm

Please be positive and constructive with your questions and comments.