Sensing Volume levels with Electret Mic

Please tell us which board you are using.
For CircuitPython issues, ask in the Adafruit CircuitPython forum.

Moderators: adafruit_support_bill, adafruit

Please be positive and constructive with your questions and comments.
Daft_vagabond

Sensing Volume levels with Electret Mic

Post by Daft_vagabond »

I recently purchased one of these for a project:

https://www.adafruit.com/product/1063

And I'm using a Feather M4 express. Since I've never used a mic in my projects before, I thought I'd start by reading this guide and changing what's needed to make it fit for the Feather M4.

https://learn.adafruit.com/sound-reacti ... ython-code

My end goal is to have the mic sense volume levels, plot and map the readings, and have a servo rotate from 0-180 based on how loud the the mic says the sound is.

I'm a little lost, however. I know the mic detects more than just volume, since it can record audio samples and all, I'm just not certain how to go about picking out that value.

I thought maybe I could pic apart the audio-levels meter part of the code featured in the guide and find the variable that changes based on the volume of the sound around it, but I can't get anything to respond the way I'd like. Every signal seems more-or-less random, jumping up and down rapidly.

dastels

Re: Sensing Volume levels with Electret Mic

Post by dastels »

I looked through that code and it's extracting volume information from the sound. A sound wave is a complex combination of sine waves. That's what a mic detects. Extracting the volume is a matter of sampling over time and computing a rolling average of the min/max values. That's what the guts of the code in that project does. So you seem to be on the right track.

Dave

Daft_vagabond

Post by Daft_vagabond »

From what I can tell, I followed everything in the guide and I'm still having issues.