0

Using CP as a development Platform
Moderators: adafruit_support_bill, adafruit

Please be positive and constructive with your questions and comments.

Using CP as a development Platform

by wdickenson on Wed May 16, 2018 1:39 pm

I am building a demo and I am using a classic CP as the base. I need to do the development on the road and then when we get to the destination, I need to plug in an extra set of Neopixels, change the number and run. But I wont have access to the neopixels until the day before.

What I would like to do is run a variant of button cycler (NeoPixel demo code) with the pins for the Classic CP. So I would set
#define BUTTON_PIN 4 // Digital IO pin connected to the button. This will be
// driven with a pull-up resistor so the switch should
// pull the pin to ground momentarily. On a high -> low
// transition the button press logic will execute.

#define PIXEL_PIN 17 // Digital IO pin connected to the NeoPixels.

#define PIXEL_COUNT 10

which matches the CP pins. Is that it ? Do I need any other mods ?

Part 2 - when I plug in, i only need to change the PIXEL_PIN to 8 ? rest should work ?

Thanks

wdickenson
 
Posts: 167
Joined: Fri Nov 16, 2012 8:43 pm

Re: Using CP as a development Platform

by danhalbert on Thu May 17, 2018 10:50 pm

PIXEL_PIN is the pin number that you're going to use for the external NeoPixels. But there is no pin #8 exposed on the board. You want to specify the pin you're planning to use.
https://learn.adafruit.com/introducing- ... utput-pads

Change PIXEL_COUNT to the number of NeoPixels on the external ring or strip.

danhalbert
 
Posts: 997
Joined: Tue Aug 08, 2017 12:37 pm

Re: Using CP as a development Platform

by nickine9 on Fri May 18, 2018 2:37 am

you may also want to cater for the fact that you might have rgb or rgbw pixels when you define the strip to ring

nickine9
 
Posts: 78
Joined: Fri Jan 06, 2017 4:14 am

Please be positive and constructive with your questions and comments.