I2C - Pull-up Resistor? Power Input?

Play with it! Please tell us which board you're using.
For CircuitPython issues, ask in the Adafruit CircuitPython forum.

Moderators: adafruit_support_bill, adafruit

Please be positive and constructive with your questions and comments.
UncleMoki

I2C - Pull-up Resistor? Power Input?

Post by UncleMoki »

Two questions (CP Classic):
  • Are pull-up resistors required between the data and clock lines? I tried it with and without and both seem to work. This is my first time using I2C.
  • Datasheet says you can't use the VBATT for voltage input but I swear I saw the CP light-up when I accidentally put power on VBATT.

adafruit_support_bill

Re: I2C - Pull-up Resistor? Power Input?

Post by adafruit_support_bill »

Are pull-up resistors required between the data and clock lines? I tried it with and without and both seem to work. This is my first time using I2C.
That depends on what device you are interfacing with. All of our i2c breakout boards have pull-ups installed, so additional pullups are not required.

Code: Select all

Datasheet says you can't use the VBATT for voltage input
"Shouldn't" is probably more technically precise. There are no diodes protecting VBATT from reverse polarity. So a mistake there could fry the board.

UncleMoki

Post by UncleMoki »

Thanks for the reply. Attempting to interface with Feather Huzzah ESP8266 + MusicMaker Wing (Adabox004).

adafruit_support_bill

The MusicMaker wing has pullups. One set of pullups on the bus is sufficient for most applications.

UncleMoki

Post by UncleMoki »

Ok, thanks again.

Curious, without the MusicMaker Wing would pullups be required? For future ref, is there something in the datasheets for these or other boards to help me know when a pull-up is required?

adafruit_support_bill

For the most part, processors do not have i2c pullups. Our i2c devices (that includes: Breakouts, Wings, Shields, Pi Plates, HATs etc.) all have 10K pullups.