Connecting hardware serial to HC-05 bluetooth
Moderators: adafruit_support_bill, adafruit

Please be positive and constructive with your questions and comments.

Connecting hardware serial to HC-05 bluetooth

by oumichaelm on Mon Feb 11, 2019 1:51 am

I have a Circuit Playground Classic and a Circuit Playground Express and have been trying to connect an HC-05 bluetooth module. They are both so rich in sensors that I thought it would be a great start to learn how to send data over the Bluetooth connection to my phone to view the sensor data.

So to begin I started learning all I could about the HC-05 Bluetooth module. I was able to use an FTDI board to hook it up to my computer. I booted it up into command mode and used the serial monitor to verify the settings of the Bluetooth module. It was setup with the follow settings which is basically the way they all come.
AT+NAME:HC-05

* AT+UART:9600,0,0
* AT+ROLE:0
* AT+PSWD:1234
* AT+ADDR:98d3:33:8119d6

I then was able to pair the module with my phone and could send and receive data through the Serial Monitor built into the Arduino IDE.

So I know the module works and how to use it. The next step was to hook it up to the Circuit Playground.

I thought I found the perfect resource on the Adafruit Explore and Learn website
https://learn.adafruit.com/circuit-playground-express-serial-communications

The tutorial works through the entire concept and then has an Arduino page, a MakeCode page, and a Circuit Python code page. I'm still most comfortable in the Arduino world and so I gravitated to that page first. Unfortuantely its blank!

So I moved on to the MadeCode example.

Here is the MakeCode from the tutorial

But when I went tired to enter the same code in the MakeCode browser, they seem to have changed the serial plugin because you can only change the RX and TX pins, there is no third option to change the Baud rate. It actually looks like this
Screenshot 2019-02-10 21.38.30.png