Voting resources, early voting, and poll worker information - VOTE. ... Adafruit is open and shipping.

CP Express light ring lights not working
Moderators: adafruit_support_bill, adafruit

Please be positive and constructive with your questions and comments.

CP Express light ring lights not working

by rhenry01 on Fri Jun 19, 2020 3:32 pm

Hi eveyone, hope you are all safe and secure.

A year or so ago I bought a circuit playground express for my 8 year old grandson. I wanted to test it out before he and I started programming with it. I tried and tried to make the CPE work but got nowhere. I put the CPE away and didn't get back to it until yesterday, wanted him to have it for the summer to learn to code. Well I started with makecode, put together a simple light program and downloaded it to the CPE and ....... nothing. I went through the troubleshooting guide and updated the bootloader and decided to try the Siren toturial. So, onshake made the siren go off but the lights refuse to work. I did ensure the brightness was set to 100 just in case.

Any helpful tips? Any diagnostic programs out there? Do you think I have a defective CPE??

Thanks!!
rhenry01

Re: CP Express light ring lights not working

by rhenry01 on Fri Jun 19, 2020 6:23 pm

And a little further programming I have verified that the motion sensor speaker, A&B switches, microphone and light level detector are all working. I haven't tested the IR rx/tx or the temperature sensor. I have it working great in the makecode editor, even paired it so the downloads work flawlessly, placing the CPE in bootloader mode, downloading the programs and them putting it back in

Just the NeoPixels of not working.
rhenry01

by adafruit_support_carter on Mon Jun 22, 2020 2:50 pm

Do the NeoPixels come on when you put the board in bootloader mode for uploading? As described here:
https://learn.adafruit.com/adafruit-cir ... -2886259-2

adafruit_support_carter

by rhenry01 on Mon Jun 22, 2020 3:30 pm