What to buy: Need a simple 180 turning servo

Play with it! Please tell us which board you're using.
For CircuitPython issues, ask in the Adafruit CircuitPython forum.

Moderators: adafruit_support_bill, adafruit

Please be positive and constructive with your questions and comments.
SoundwaveSuperior

What to buy: Need a simple 180 turning servo

Post by SoundwaveSuperior »

Hi all,
Noob here. So what I want to build is the Squid Game Red Light Green Light Doll Robot head. I just need a simple high torque servo that can turn the head 180 degrees when I press the cricket button. It needs to be in a costume so it must be battery powered. I am thinking of purchasing: Microservo MG90D high torque, ADA fruit cricket, and the 3 AA battery holder. Is there anything else I need to purchase for this simple mechanism? Please help!
-SoundwaveSuperior

Franklin97355

Re: What to buy: Need a simple 180 turning servo

Post by Franklin97355 »

Before you build the item test the servo to make sure it will do what you want, Some servos are not able to sweep a full 180 degrees. you can use a microcontroller like the Trinket M0 if the space is an issue. Take a look at https://learn.adafruit.com/trinket-gemma-servo-control

SoundwaveSuperior

Thank you for your reply. Do you think this metal gear 180 degree servo would work properly? I just need to press a button for the servo to turn 180 degrees in one direction and then press it again to go back to the original position. That's all it needs to do.

https://youtu.be/nY7D_5_Qmps

Franklin97355

Post by Franklin97355 »

Our servos should be comparable.

SoundwaveSuperior

Is there one in particular that I should purchase? I would like one that has metal gears for high torque.

adafruit_support_bill

Post by adafruit_support_bill »

Is there one in particular that I should purchase? I would like one that has metal gears for high torque.
How much torque do you need?