Arduino: 1.8.16 (Windows 10), Board: "Adafruit Circuit Playg

Play with it! Please tell us which board you're using.
For CircuitPython issues, ask in the Adafruit CircuitPython forum.

Moderators: adafruit_support_bill, adafruit

Please be positive and constructive with your questions and comments.
Locked
User avatar
FrankBS
 
Posts: 32
Joined: Sat Feb 20, 2021 12:27 pm

Arduino: 1.8.16 (Windows 10), Board: "Adafruit Circuit Playg

Post by FrankBS »

Following guide for CPG Express with TFT gizmo.
On Arduino IDE v1.8.16, after loading libraries and restarting IDE, ran code and got this ERROR: 'SPI1' was not declared in this scope.

Looking at code, I see:
"You will need to use Adafruit's CircuitPlayground Express Board Definition
// for Gizmos rather than the Arduino version since there are additional SPI
// ports exposed."

How do I do this?Arduino IDE only shows CircuitPlayground board.

Does the code have to be modified? If so, what changes must be made?

Thanks

User avatar
dastels
 
Posts: 15659
Joined: Tue Oct 20, 2015 3:22 pm

Re: Arduino: 1.8.16 (Windows 10), Board: "Adafruit Circuit P

Post by dastels »

Have you installed the Arduino AND Adafruit SAMD board support packages?

Dave

User avatar
FrankBS
 
Posts: 32
Joined: Sat Feb 20, 2021 12:27 pm

Re: Arduino: 1.8.16 (Windows 10), Board: "Adafruit Circuit P

Post by FrankBS »

Not sure of SAMD board support package. Is that a library or do I load it under preferences?

Frank

User avatar
dastels
 
Posts: 15659
Joined: Tue Oct 20, 2015 3:22 pm

Re: Arduino: 1.8.16 (Windows 10), Board: "Adafruit Circuit P

Post by dastels »

In the board manager. I suggest you read the CircuitPlayground tutorial guide, starting here: https://learn.adafruit.com/adafruit-cir ... ss/arduino

Dave

User avatar
FrankBS
 
Posts: 32
Joined: Sat Feb 20, 2021 12:27 pm

Re: Arduino: 1.8.16 (Windows 10), Board: "Adafruit Circuit P

Post by FrankBS »

Thanks, getting there. But now the following displays when loading graphicstest_tft_gizmo. The tft activates but nothing else happens.

Sketch uses 34636 bytes (13%) of program storage space. Maximum is 262144 bytes.
Global variables use 3740 bytes (11%) of dynamic memory, leaving 29028 bytes for local variables. Maximum is 32768 bytes.
Atmel SMART device 0x10010005 found
Device : ATSAMD21G18A
Chip ID : 10010005
Version : v1.1 [Arduino:XYZ] Jan 15 2022 11:53:59
Address : 8192
Pages : 3968
Page Size : 64 bytes
Total Size : 248KB
Planes : 1
Lock Regions : 16
Locked : none
Security : false
Boot Flash : true
BOD : true
BOR : true
Arduino : FAST_CHIP_ERASE
Arduino : FAST_MULTI_PAGE_WRITE
Arduino : CAN_CHECKSUM_MEMORY_BUFFER
Erase flash
done in 0.840 seconds

Write 34636 bytes to flash (542 pages)
[==============================] 100% (542/542 pages)
done in 0.280 seconds

Verify 34636 bytes of flash with checksum.
Verify successful
done in 0.057 seconds
CPU reset.

User avatar
FrankBS
 
Posts: 32
Joined: Sat Feb 20, 2021 12:27 pm

Re: Arduino: 1.8.16 (Windows 10), Board: "Adafruit Circuit P

Post by FrankBS »

I have reloaded all ADAFRUIT libraries to IDE. Reloaded CP 7.2.4 UF2 to the board. Re-run graphicstest_tft_gizmo and the code compiles and runs resulting in message shown in my previous pose. I then lose the circuitplayground drive and it reloads the CLAYBOOT drive and then that drive goes away.
If I double click on the CP Express board, I am right back to where I started,

User avatar
dastels
 
Posts: 15659
Joined: Tue Oct 20, 2015 3:22 pm

Re: Arduino: 1.8.16 (Windows 10), Board: "Adafruit Circuit P

Post by dastels »

Are you trying to use CircuitPython or C++/Arduino? It's one or the other.

Dave

User avatar
FrankBS
 
Posts: 32
Joined: Sat Feb 20, 2021 12:27 pm

Re: Arduino: 1.8.16 (Windows 10), Board: "Adafruit Circuit P

Post by FrankBS »

Sorry but that is a strange question. I have been trying to use circuit python. What makes you think I am trying to use C++/Arduino?

Wait.... I see that in the IDE I am using an Arduino defined "Adafruit Circuit Playground Express" from the Arduino SAMD board.
I cannot see a " Circuit Playground Express" Board only "Circuit Playground Classic" in the Adafruit Board choices.

Should there be a " Circuit Playground Express" board in the Adafruit board selection in the IDE? Should I select one of the other boards?

After running the sketch and receiving results in the error that seems to re-flash the playground board, I lose connection on my computer resulting in the need to reset the board in bootloader.

Locked
Please be positive and constructive with your questions and comments.

Return to “Circuit Playground Classic, Circuit Playground Express, Circuit Playground Bluefruit”