0

Funhouse erratic upload and DP310 fail
Moderators: adafruit_support_bill, adafruit

Please be positive and constructive with your questions and comments.

Funhouse erratic upload and DP310 fail

by jskora on Sun Jul 25, 2021 10:55 pm

I have had trouble programming the Funhouse from Adabox18 on multiple computers and multiple cables with uploads either not starting or failing part way through, with occasional success. It seems to be the most likely to work if I first open a serial monitor before trying the upload.

Tonight, it started showing a "DP310 FAIL!" message and that does not go away with a power cycle.

Any help appreciated.

IMG_6379.jpg
IMG_6379.jpg (956.01 KiB) Viewed 149 times

jskora
 
Posts: 22
Joined: Wed Jan 28, 2009 9:23 pm

Re: Funhouse erratic upload and DP310 fail

by chrs2021 on Mon Jul 26, 2021 2:38 am

I am also seeing this issue with my funhouse. I am trying to use the examples for either sensor AHTX0 and DPS310 and it returns a failure to detect either.

chrs2021
 
Posts: 18
Joined: Tue Apr 24, 2012 1:16 am

Re: Funhouse erratic upload and DP310 fail

by jskora on Mon Jul 26, 2021 10:10 am

When it does get past the DP310 failure on startup, I've while running the self test example (https://learn.adafruit.com/adafruit-fun ... st-example) script, the Down button does not register in the "Buttons:" output but changethe floating Analog 2 value to fixed a 8191.

jskora
 
Posts: 22
Joined: Wed Jan 28, 2009 9:23 pm

Re: Funhouse erratic upload and DP310 fail

by franklin97355 on Mon Jul 26, 2021 11:18 am

Do you have the latest versions of the software? Where are you loading the program and which program are you loading? Thanks for the info.

franklin97355
 
Posts: 22158
Joined: Mon Apr 21, 2008 2:33 pm
Location: Lacomb, OR.

Re: Funhouse erratic upload and DP310 fail

by adafruit_support_carter on Mon Jul 26, 2021 11:28 am

Are you able to get the HOUSEBOOT folder to show up OK if you do the double press of reset as described here?
https://learn.adafruit.com/adafruit-fun ... ep-3089490
The hint on timing can be helpful:
About a half second pause between clicks while the DotStars are purple seems to work well.


And for running the self test example, are you dragging the Funhouse_SelfTest.UF2 file to the HOUSEBOOT folder?

adafruit_support_carter
 
Posts: 21086
Joined: Tue Nov 29, 2016 2:45 pm

Re: Funhouse erratic upload and DP310 fail

by jskora on Mon Jul 26, 2021 2:02 pm

After reflashing the latest "funhouse_tinyuf2_combo.bin" boot loader from the Install UF2 Bootloader page uploasd from the Arduino IDE fail whether or not the serial monitor is running. Uploads directly from the command line also fail in the same way.

The bootloader example appears to run ok, with the buttons functioning as expected. When an upload starts the display flickers but the flickering and the upload stop pretty quickly and the upload eventually timing out. I've included a sample of the upload output.

Code: Select all | TOGGLE FULL SIZE
esptool.py v3.1-dev
Serial port COM3
Connecting........__
Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "esptool.py", line 4423, in <module>
  File "esptool.py", line 4416, in _main
  File "esptool.py", line 3966, in main
  File "esptool.py", line 120, in get_default_connected_device
  File "esptool.py", line 570, in connect
  File "esptool.py", line 539, in _connect_attempt
  File "esptool.py", line 480, in sync
  File "esptool.py", line 407, in command
  File "site-packages\serial\serialutil.py", line 352, in timeout
  File "site-packages\serial\serialwin32.py", line 222, in _reconfigure_port
serial.serialutil.SerialException: Cannot configure port, something went wrong. Original message: WindowsError(121, 'The semaphore timeout period has expired.')
Failed to execute script esptool
the selected serial port Failed to execute script esptool
 does not exist or your board is not connected

jskora
 
Posts: 22
Joined: Wed Jan 28, 2009 9:23 pm

Re: Funhouse erratic upload and DP310 fail

by jskora on Mon Jul 26, 2021 2:12 pm

In case it helps, here's another upload failure log.

Code: Select all | TOGGLE FULL SIZE
esptool.py v3.1-dev
Serial port COM3
Connecting........_____.....
Chip is ESP32-S2
Features: WiFi, ADC and temperature sensor calibration in BLK2 of efuse
Crystal is 40MHz
MAC: 7c:df:a1:06:8e:c2
Uploading stub...
Running stub...
Stub running...
Configuring flash size...

A fatal error occurred: Timed out waiting for packet header
A fatal error occurred: Timed out waiting for packet header

jskora
 
Posts: 22
Joined: Wed Jan 28, 2009 9:23 pm

Re: Funhouse erratic upload and DP310 fail

by chrs2021 on Mon Jul 26, 2021 3:24 pm

I was able to enter the bootloader/houseboot mode and the sensors were being detected.

Does this mean this is an issue with the library.

for troubleshooting steps i have removed and reinstalled the arduino ide and reinstalled the latest libraries.

Sorry for hijacking this post i can create another one if it is an issue.

chrs2021
 
Posts: 18
Joined: Tue Apr 24, 2012 1:16 am

Re: Funhouse erratic upload and DP310 fail

by adafruit_support_carter on Tue Jul 27, 2021 11:39 am

OK, it sounds like the hardware is generally working since you can get the BOOT folder and the precompiled demo UF2 is running as expected.

Were you following this for Arduino IDE setup?
https://learn.adafruit.com/adafruit-fun ... -ide-setup

adafruit_support_carter
 
Posts: 21086
Joined: Tue Nov 29, 2016 2:45 pm

Re: Funhouse erratic upload and DP310 fail

by jskora on Tue Jul 27, 2021 1:39 pm

Yes, I've been following the IDE Setup page, add the libraries, and then Compile and Upload the Selt Test Example.

The results are not consistent.
1. Sometimes the upload works but often is doesn't and hangs part way through.
2. Sometimes opening the Serial Monitor first helps with the upload, sometimes it doesn't.
3. Sometimes it throws the "DP310 FAIL!" error on when the app starts.
4. Finally, when it does upload and run, using the Self Test Example code, the Down Button action does not work like it does from the Boot Loader precompiled demo, instead of showing "DOWN" in the buttons output it flips the "Analog 2" output to 8191.

jskora
 
Posts: 22
Joined: Wed Jan 28, 2009 9:23 pm

Re: Funhouse erratic upload and DP310 fail

by adafruit_support_carter on Tue Jul 27, 2021 3:34 pm

OK, we've recreated the issue on our end. It may be related to ongoing changes in the ESP32 Arduino Core. The ESP32-S2 Arduino support is still in works, so, unfortunately, some bumps expected. We'll try and take a look and see if we can discover anything.

You can also try reverting back to the 2.0.0-alpha1 release of the BSP and see if maybe that works? Things were at least working at some point since the precompiled UF2 works. That was built with the Arduino IDE.

adafruit_support_carter
 
Posts: 21086
Joined: Tue Nov 29, 2016 2:45 pm

Re: Funhouse erratic upload and DP310 fail

by jskora on Tue Jul 27, 2021 4:03 pm

I'm currently running version 2.0.0-alpha1 of the Espressif "esp32" board package, do you mean I should revert back to 2.0.0-rc1?

jskora
 
Posts: 22
Joined: Wed Jan 28, 2009 9:23 pm

Re: Funhouse erratic upload and DP310 fail

by adafruit_support_carter on Tue Jul 27, 2021 4:48 pm

Here's the issue opened for this if you want to follow along:
https://github.com/espressif/arduino-esp32/issues/5470

adafruit_support_carter
 
Posts: 21086
Joined: Tue Nov 29, 2016 2:45 pm

Re: Funhouse erratic upload and DP310 fail

by adafruit_support_carter on Tue Jul 27, 2021 4:50 pm

do you mean I should revert back to 2.0.0-rc1?

Oops. Sorry, no. The other way around. Try alpha1 instead of rc1.

But if rc1 is also not working, then not sure. Might just have to wait until the issue linked above gets resolved.

adafruit_support_carter
 
Posts: 21086
Joined: Tue Nov 29, 2016 2:45 pm

Re: Funhouse erratic upload and DP310 fail

by jskora on Wed Jul 28, 2021 8:27 am

If I'm already running `2.0.0-alpha1` it sounds like waiting is the real option.

I did find what was causing the button problem with my build of the self test, the `arduino-esp32 source includes :static const unit8_t BUTTON_DOWN = 3;", but per the FunHouse pinout diagram BUTTON_DOWN is on GPIO1.

Would I be better off switching to CircuitPython?

jskora
 
Posts: 22
Joined: Wed Jan 28, 2009 9:23 pm

Please be positive and constructive with your questions and comments.