0

adabox004 -- do I have a bad Feather Huzzah?
Moderators: adafruit_support_bill, adafruit

Please be positive and constructive with your questions and comments.

adabox004 -- do I have a bad Feather Huzzah?

by p_arny on Mon Jul 10, 2017 4:25 am

I am playing with my Adabox004 (order # 1370621) parts, and I can't upload a program to the Feather Huzzah.

It seems to be a similar problem to that reported in viewtopic.php?f=57&t=119731&hilit=adabox&start=15

I'm using the Arduino 1.8.1 IDE on Windows 10. When I connect the Huzzah to my USB port to upload a sketch, 3 LEDs blink and go out.

When I try to compile and upload the feather_player sketch, no LEDs light up on the Huzzah. Eventually, I get an error on the IDE console:

Arduino: 1.8.1 (Windows 10), Board: "Arduino/Genuino Mega or Mega 2560, ATmega2560 (Mega 2560)"

Sketch uses 15002 bytes (5%) of program storage space. Maximum is 253952 bytes.
Global variables use 1061 bytes (12%) of dynamic memory, leaving 7131 bytes for local variables. Maximum is 8192 bytes.
avrdude: stk500v2_ReceiveMessage(): timeout
avrdude: stk500v2_ReceiveMessage(): timeout
avrdude: stk500v2_ReceiveMessage(): timeout
avrdude: stk500v2_ReceiveMessage(): timeout
avrdude: stk500v2_ReceiveMessage(): timeout
avrdude: stk500v2_ReceiveMessage(): timeout
avrdude: stk500v2_getsync(): timeout communicating with programmer
An error occurred while uploading the sketch

This report would have more information with
"Show verbose output during compilation"
option enabled in File -> Preferences.


I checked voltages on the pins of the huzzah:while connected to my PC via the USB cable that came in the box:
gnd-3v 3.22v
gnd-bat 4.29v
gnd-usb 5.0v

I also tried 2 other micro-usb cables I had, with the same results.

So I suspect I have a bad huzzah.
I took and attached a picture (attached);

What else can I check and/or try?
Attachments
IMG_20170710_011233.jpg
IMG_20170710_011233.jpg (119.4 KiB) Viewed 770 times

p_arny
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Jul 10, 2017 3:33 am

Re: adabox004 -- do I have a bad Feather Huzzah?

by adafruit_support_rick on Mon Jul 10, 2017 9:57 am

You have Arduino Mega selected as the board type. You need to select either the Adafruit ESP8266 board type or the Generic ESP8266 board type

adafruit_support_rick
 
Posts: 35095
Joined: Tue Mar 15, 2011 11:42 am
Location: Buffalo, NY

Re: adabox004 -- do I have a bad Feather Huzzah?

by p_arny on Mon Jul 10, 2017 12:53 pm

Golly. Oops, I'll check that. Thanks.

p_arny
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Jul 10, 2017 3:33 am

Re: adabox004 -- do I have a bad Feather Huzzah?

by Schpok on Mon Jul 10, 2017 10:22 pm

I don't see either of those boards under the boards menu. Do I need to install it under the Boards Manager menu?
Schpok
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Jul 26, 2006 11:11 am
Location: Los Angeles, CA

Re: adabox004 -- do I have a bad Feather Huzzah?

by p_arny on Mon Jul 10, 2017 10:25 pm

Choosing the right board helped, I got programs loading to my feather. Thanks!

p_arny
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Jul 10, 2017 3:33 am

Re: adabox004 -- do I have a bad Feather Huzzah?

by adafruit_support_rick on Tue Jul 11, 2017 8:21 am

Schpok wrote:I don't see either of those boards under the boards menu. Do I need to install it under the Boards Manager menu?

Please see this section of the tutorial:
https://learn.adafruit.com/adafruit-huz ... rd-package

adafruit_support_rick
 
Posts: 35095
Joined: Tue Mar 15, 2011 11:42 am
Location: Buffalo, NY

Please be positive and constructive with your questions and comments.


cron