0

Getting HDMI 5" Display to work with ADABOX005
Moderators: adafruit_support_bill, adafruit

Please be positive and constructive with your questions and comments.

Getting HDMI 5" Display to work with ADABOX005

by acknak on Wed Sep 27, 2017 6:11 pm

First of all great job on ADABOX005, my first one and will be looking forward to future boxes.

I received my HDMI 5" Display from Digi-Key and plugged it in to see what happened. As probably expected I got lines and other static on the display. After looking at the notes on the display, it appears that the resolution of the Pi needs to be set to 800x480 and audio needs to be redirected to the non existent audio jack.

Wanted to know if this should done in RetroPi / Emulation Station or in the config.txt file. I have some experience with Pi 2s and 3s, but this is my first experience with a Zero and RetroPi. It would be helpful to post a set of instructions on how to get the Digi-Key Display to work with the Zero and RetroPi.

Thanks for any help.

acknak
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Mon Sep 25, 2017 8:03 pm

Re: Getting HDMI 5" Display to work with ADABOX005

by Keebie81 on Wed Sep 27, 2017 8:32 pm

Check out the setup from a guide linked on the product page https://learn.adafruit.com/adafruit-5-8 ... -pi-config

Keebie81
 
Posts: 146
Joined: Wed Sep 10, 2014 6:53 pm

Re: Getting HDMI 5" Display to work with ADABOX005

by acknak on Wed Sep 27, 2017 9:01 pm

I edited the /boot/config.txt and added:

hdmi_force_hotplug=1

# uncomment to force a specific HDMI mode (here we are forcing 800x480!)
hdmi_group=2
hdmi_mode=1
hdmi_mode=87
hdmi_cvt=800 480 60 6 0 0 0

max_usb_current=1

I left the existing settings at the bottom of the file. May have wrong expectations, but the resolution seems a little off. I can see the graphics, but the colors seem off, and the graphics seem like there are vertical lines across the screen. Is there something that I missed?
Last edited by acknak on Wed Sep 27, 2017 10:10 pm, edited 1 time in total.

acknak
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Mon Sep 25, 2017 8:03 pm

Re: Getting HDMI 5" Display to work with ADABOX005

by Keebie81 on Wed Sep 27, 2017 9:18 pm

How are you powering the monitor? I get good results on mine when powering the monitor from a seperate power supply. Post a picture of how the screen looks if possible.
bonnet.jpg
bonnet.jpg (72.29 KiB) Viewed 478 times

Keebie81
 
Posts: 146
Joined: Wed Sep 10, 2014 6:53 pm

Re: Getting HDMI 5" Display to work with ADABOX005

by acknak on Wed Sep 27, 2017 9:41 pm

IMG_2113.jpg
IMG_2113.jpg (970.58 KiB) Viewed 466 times


this is what I see with the changes in the /boot/config.txt. I have the display driven by a separate power supply.

When I plug the HDMI cable from the Pi into a monitor, I don't see the vertical lines in the display. I have changed the audio settings to route to the audio plug rather than auto or HDMI. Also when I drive the Display from a HDMI cable connected to my Mac, the display doesn't show the vertical lines.

acknak
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Mon Sep 25, 2017 8:03 pm

Re: Getting HDMI 5" Display to work with ADABOX005

by welovejeff on Mon Oct 02, 2017 10:39 pm

Here's the config.txt I used with my Adafruit display, it's a mashup of the two:
Code: Select all | TOGGLE FULL SIZE
# For more options and information see
# http://rpf.io/configtxtreadme
# Some settings may impact device functionality. See link above for details

# uncomment if you get no picture on HDMI for a default "safe" mode
#hdmi_safe=1

# uncomment this if your display has a black border of unused pixels visible
# and your display can output without overscan
#disable_overscan=1

# uncomment the following to adjust overscan. Use positive numbers if console
# goes off screen, and negative if there is too much border
#overscan_left=16
#overscan_right=16
#overscan_top=16
#overscan_bottom=16

# uncomment to force a console size. By default it will be display's size minus
# overscan.
#framebuffer_width=1280
#framebuffer_height=720

# uncomment if hdmi display is not detected and composite is being output
hdmi_force_hotplug=1

# uncomment to force a specific HDMI mode (this will force VGA)
hdmi_group=2
hdmi_mode=1
hdmi_mode=87
hdmi_cvt=800 480 60 6 0 0 0

max_usb_current=1

# uncomment to force a HDMI mode rather than DVI. This can make audio work in
# DMT (computer monitor) modes
#hdmi_drive=2

# uncomment to increase signal to HDMI, if you have interference, blanking, or
# no display
#config_hdmi_boost=4

# uncomment for composite PAL
#sdtv_mode=2

#uncomment to overclock the arm. 700 MHz is the default.
#arm_freq=800

# Uncomment some or all of these to enable the optional hardware interfaces
dtparam=i2c_arm=on
#dtparam=i2s=on
#dtparam=spi=on

# Uncomment this to enable the lirc-rpi module
#dtoverlay=lirc-rpi

# Additional overlays and parameters are documented /boot/overlays/README

# Enable audio (loads snd_bcm2835)
dtparam=audio=on
gpu_mem_256=128
gpu_mem_512=256
gpu_mem_1024=256
overscan_scale=1

welovejeff
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Mar 19, 2017 7:04 pm

Please be positive and constructive with your questions and comments.