Python and Ampy
Moderators: adafruit_support_bill, adafruit

Please be positive and constructive with your questions and comments.

Python and Ampy

by Meide on Mon Nov 28, 2016 10:43 am

Hi,
I am totally new in the world of Micropython and I am trying to understand how it's working exactly.
I read and made the 3 first tutorials in the webstite and I am now trying to understand the tutorial "Loads Files and Run Codes".
I have several questions about it and I hope someone here can help me :)
If I well understood, we use the REPL software to communicate directly with our device (in my case pyboard). And what the tutorial explain us is that if we want to writte code first and then send it to the device for application, we need to use an additional software. (Correct me if I am false)
So what the tutorial tells us is that we need to install Python and then to add a package (?) which is named Ampy.
First, I don't really understand what Python is for ? It's look like a command board but I don't know what it does exactly ... For me it looks the same as the REPL software but without connection to my device .. Can someone explain me ?
Then we have to install the package "ampy" in python.. But what this package is for ?
Thank you for your help

Médé

Meide

Re: Python and Ampy

by adafruit_support_mike on Tue Nov 29, 2016 2:46 am

[Moved to the MicroPython forum]

adafruit_support_mike

by superjudge on Thu Dec 01, 2016 12:31 pm

Hi Médé,

I am also pretty new to MicroPython, but I have a long background in using "regular" Python.