Si7021 Library
Moderators: adafruit_support_bill, adafruit

Please be positive and constructive with your questions and comments.

Si7021 Library

by cbalmer on Sat Dec 31, 2016 5:15 pm

I noticed that a Python based library for the Si7021 was missing so I created one over the weekend. It's available here if anyone wants it: https://github.com/chrisbalmer/micropython-si7021

I still need to add in the checksum verification for the serial number data and refactor some of the i2c communication. But it is a working library for temperature and humidity readings.

It originally was going to be a straight conversion of the C++ library from Adafruit (you can see the constant names are the same) but I deviated shortly after the constants. If that causes any issues, let me know.

cbalmer

Re: Si7021 Library

by nickmomrik on Sat Dec 31, 2016 9:10 pm

Awesome! I just started playing with a Si7021 last night and found a different library that needed a bunch installs to work. I'll give this one a try tomorrow.

nickmomrik

by nickmomrik on Sat Dec 31, 2016 11:29 pm

Oh, I missed that it was MicroPython. My project is on a Raspberry Pi.

nickmomrik

by tannewt on Tue Jan 03, 2017 2:13 pm

Thanks for the link cbalmer! That looks really interesting. I've really grown to like using properties as a way to access data from a sensor. For example:

Code: Select all | TOGGLE FULL SIZE
sensor = Si7021(i2c)
print(sensor.temperature)
print(sensor.humidity)

However, that begs the question of how to deal with units. It'd be awesome if the drivers returned their data with unit information attached so that calculations between units are checked. Have you ever used a Python units library? I wonder which one is best? We have the extra challenge of little memory so we may need our own way of doing it.

tannewt

by cbalmer on Tue Jan 03, 2017 9:28 pm