Voting resources, early voting, and poll worker information - VOTE. ... Adafruit is open and shipping.

Convert C byte to Python string
Moderators: adafruit_support_bill, adafruit

Please be positive and constructive with your questions and comments.

Convert C byte to Python string

by Seras on Mon May 25, 2020 10:32 pm

Hello, I am a beginner when it comes to Python, and I'm having some trouble working with an Adafruit 7-Segment Display.

In brief, what I am trying to do is call a C program in a function via subprocess and receive a value such as "50.55" in a variable. I want to take that number and display it on the Adafruit display, however I'm running into a problem.

The display works as intended when I create a variable teststring with a string in it and send that through "display.print(teststring)". However, when I try to use the variable I get from calling the C function I get errors. I know that the value returned from my function is first in the type of bytes, so I convert that to a string. However, that string must have a different encoding since it causes errors when placed inside display.print().

This is what I am trying at the moment to convert the bytes to a string:

Code: Select all | TOGGLE FULL SIZE
valstring = str(valbyte, 'utf-8')
display.print(valstring)

I think this is the right approach, however I don't think that utf-8 is the correct thing to convert it to. I have also seen elsewhere that another suggestion would be to use "value.decode", but I am unsure how this works or if it is the answer I am looking for. Any help would be immensely appreciated!

Seras

Re: Convert C byte to Python string

by siddacious on Tue May 26, 2020 2:57 am

Please post your full code, or at least the sections in question as well the errors you're getting.

siddacious

by Seras on Tue May 26, 2020 2:23 pm

My apologies, here is the code:

import board
import time
import subprocess
import shlex
from adafruit_ht16k33.segments import Seg7x4

i2c = board.I2C()