Voting resources, early voting, and poll worker information - VOTE. ... Adafruit is open and shipping.

Break Beam Sensor Funky Output & Questions
Moderators: adafruit_support_bill, adafruit

Please be positive and constructive with your questions and comments.

Break Beam Sensor Funky Output & Questions

by afno on Thu Aug 13, 2020 10:44 am

Hello. I am doing a project with a RasPi 3B+ and I am having trouble interfacing with the 3mm IR Break-Beam sensor that is sold here on Adafruit (but for some reason I bought it on Amazon even though it's more $$ there). I am new to using the GPIO pins with the raspberry pi, and so I decided to run a slightly edited version of the basic CircuitPython code that is shown here: https://learn.adafruit.com/ir-breakbeam-sensors/circuitpython
Code: Select all | TOGGLE FULL SIZE
import os

import board
import digitalio

# Create digital input with pull-up resistor on pin D18
# for break beam sensor.
break_beam = digitalio.DigitalInOut(board.D18)
break_beam.direction = digitalio.Direction.INPUT
break_beam.pull = digitalio.Pull.UP

while True:
    print(break_beam.value)
    # wait for the beam to be broken
    if not break_beam.value:
        #wait for the beam not to be broken
        print(break_beam.value)
        while not break_beam.value:
            print(break_beam.value)
        #play an mp3
        os.system("mpg 321 /home/pi/Music/soundFile.mp3")

For some reason, the only output I get is True. Never false, even when the sensor is not connected. For experimentation, I tried to change the pull to DOWN, to see if that would change it to constant false, which it did. I also tried to connect the sensor pin to 24 instead of 18. No dice. One thing that I did rather unusually which, I, being a total (non)expert, think couldn't be the problem was that I used aluminum foil to connect the sensor wires to some GPIO cables stripped on one end.

Is it possible I got a dud?