Voting resources, early voting, and poll worker information - VOTE. ... Adafruit is open and shipping.

AHRS fusion with circuit python
Moderators: adafruit_support_bill, adafruit

Please be positive and constructive with your questions and comments.

AHRS fusion with circuit python

by sminogue on Sun Oct 04, 2020 9:50 am

I am just getting started with both the board (Feather Sense) and Circuit Python so please forgive what I hope is a complete newb question. I am looking to pull motion data from my board, so following instructions on the circuitpython sense demo I got the board up and running and dumping sensor data to the... console? terminal? I then went on to follow Lady Ada's "How to Fuse Motion Sensor Data into AHRS Orientation" tutorial. Once I got past the transition from circuitpython to using the Arduino IDE it went well and at the end I had a rabbit twisting around on the screen.

My question is how do I do all this using Circuit Python? Ive been searching around and searching this forum but not finding how to do the sensor fusion in Circuit Python?

Im interested in moving forward in CP because it seems like the develop/test loop is shorter, simply saving the .py file on the board and see results as opposed to the compile and upload going on in the Arduino IDE. Also, frankly I havent touched C since college while I have dabbled with Python so am more comfortable with it.

sminogue

Re: AHRS fusion with circuit python

by siddacious on Mon Oct 05, 2020 1:16 pm

OOh, sounds like fun! I agree with your take on CP's iteration times, they're quite handy for developing code.

To my knowledge, there aren't any existing AHRS libraries written specifically for circuitpython, but since we try to keep CircuitPython as close as possible to CPython, it should be possible to port a pure-python AHRS library to CircuitPython. Alternatively you could translate the Arduino code into CircuitPython.

siddacious

by sminogue on Fri Oct 09, 2020 9:50 am