Problem adding CircuitPython to QT PY ESP32-C3 [was S2]

CircuitPython on hardware including Adafruit's boards, and CircuitPython libraries using Blinka on host computers.

Moderators: adafruit_support_bill, adafruit

Please be positive and constructive with your questions and comments.
Locked
User avatar
Tom_Henry
 
Posts: 350
Joined: Wed Aug 26, 2020 8:19 pm

Problem adding CircuitPython to QT PY ESP32-C3 [was S2]

Post by Tom_Henry »

I have 2 Adafruit QT Py ESP32-C3, part # 5405.

I attempted to add CircuitPython to these devices following these directions take from this web page:

https://learn.adafruit.com/adafruit-qt- ... cuitpython


I did this:

Plug your board into your computer, using a known-good data-sync cable, directly, or via an adapter if needed.

Click the reset button once (highlighted in red above), and then click it again when you see the RGB status LED(s) (highlighted in green above) turn purple (approximately half a second later). Sometimes it helps to think of it as a "slow double-click" of the reset button.

Once successful, you will see the RGB status LED(s) turn green (highlighted in green above). If you see red, try another port, or if you're using an adapter or hub, try without the hub, or different adapter or hub.
If double-clicking doesn't work the first time, try again. Sometimes it can take a few tries to get the rhythm right!

You will see a new disk drive appear called QTPYS2BOOT.

I tried several times and was never able to get the
QTPYS2BOOT drive to appear.

I then tried doing the Factory Reset and Bootloader Repair per this page:

https://learn.adafruit.com/adafruit-qt- ... -3107941-7

I was able to open the ESP Web Flasher using the Chrome browser and erase the flash memory:


Connected successfully.
Try hard reset.
Chip type ESP32-C3
Connected to ESP32-C3
MAC Address: 10:91:A8:32:8E:64
Uploading stub...
Running stub...
Stub is now running...
Detecting Flash Size
FlashId: 0x164020
Flash Manufacturer: 20
Flash Device: 4016
Auto-detected Flash size: 4MB
Erasing flash memory. Please wait...
Finished. Took 16666ms to erase.

Then I programmed the QT Py ESP32-S2 with this result:

Image header, Magic=0xFF, FlashMode=0xFF, FlashSizeFreq=0xFF
Writing data with filesize: 3082336
Erase size 3082336, blocks 189, block size 0x4000, offset 0x0000, encrypted no
Took 35023ms to write 3082336 bytes
Erase size 0, blocks 0, block size 0x4000, offset 0x0000, encrypted no
To run the new firmware, please reset your device.

I then tried to reset the QT Py ESP32-S2 and followed these directions:

Reset the board

Now that you've reprogrammed the board, you need to reset it to continue. Click the reset button to launch the new firmware.

The NeoPixel LED on the QT Py ESP32-S2 will light up in a rainbow swirl.
You've successfully returned your board to a factory reset state!

The reset did not work.

Has Adafruit had some problems with these boards?

I really like this board and how it’s working with on a previous QT Py ESP32-S2 and that is why I purchased 2 more boards.

I am over the 30 day return time so I can’t return the boards.

These 2 boards were purchased on April 6th under Order #2820258-4036924415.

So, what do you suggest I do?

Thanks,

Tom Henry

User avatar
TI545
 
Posts: 98
Joined: Tue Feb 27, 2018 5:25 pm

Re: Problem adding CircuitPython to QT PY ESP32-S2

Post by TI545 »

Which board do you have? Your title reads “s2” but part 5405 is a “c3” chip.


I have a few esp32-s2 qtpy and haven’t had trouble with them.

User avatar
Tom_Henry
 
Posts: 350
Joined: Wed Aug 26, 2020 8:19 pm

Re: Problem adding CircuitPython to QT PY ESP32-S2

Post by Tom_Henry »

Thanks for the correction. My problem is with the C3 not S2.

Tom Henry

User avatar
danhalbert
 
Posts: 4652
Joined: Tue Aug 08, 2017 12:37 pm

Re: Problem adding CircuitPython to QT PY ESP32-S2

Post by danhalbert »

The C3 does not have native USB; it only has a serial USB connection. So you can't see the BOOT drive. We are working on CircuitPython for this board, but it's early. The guide is here: https://learn.adafruit.com/adafruit-qt- ... -dev-board. CircuitPython is not mentioned in that guide yet because it's still experimental.

If you want an ESP board with CircuitPython, we recommend the ESP32-S2 boards for now.

User avatar
Tom_Henry
 
Posts: 350
Joined: Wed Aug 26, 2020 8:19 pm

Re: Problem adding CircuitPython to QT PY ESP32-S2

Post by Tom_Henry »

Now I know what I did. I ordered the wrong part. I meant to order 2 of the QT Py ESP32-S2 not C3.

I guess I will just save those for a later time when you have CircuitPython working on them.

I just went outside to one my sensors running on the QT Py ESP32-S2 and the AHT20 and PCF8523. I based it on a Ruiz Brother projects with the 3D printed case: https://learn.adafruit.com/qt-py-snap-fit-case

Thanks for making me aware of the C3.

Tom Henry

Locked
Please be positive and constructive with your questions and comments.

Return to “Adafruit CircuitPython”