Voting resources, early voting, and poll worker information - VOTE. ... Adafruit is open and shipping.
0

How do I program my m4 express? (Arduino IDE)
Moderators: adafruit_support_bill, adafruit

Please be positive and constructive with your questions and comments.

How do I program my m4 express? (Arduino IDE)

by jim_lee on Tue Sep 15, 2020 2:55 pm

I can't. It even crashes my Mac if I try. The tutorials I've seen on this seem to be out of date? 'Cause I can't find the files they talk about.

What do I need to do to program this thing? Even "There are issues, we're working on this. Just wait a bit." Would be fine to hear.

This is the one I have : https://www.adafruit.com/product/4481

IDE : 1.8.12 and I think 1.8.7

Thanks!

-jim lee

jim_lee
 
Posts: 653
Joined: Thu May 24, 2012 8:24 pm

Re: How do I program my m4 express? (Arduino IDE)

by dastels on Tue Sep 15, 2020 5:54 pm

Are all libraries up to date?
You have the "Adafruit nRF52" board package installed?
You have "Adafruit ItsyBitsy nRF52840 Express" selected as the board?
You've read through and followed https://learn.adafruit.com/adafruit-itsybitsy-nrf52840-express/arduino-support-setup?

Dave

dastels
 
Posts: 3410
Joined: Tue Oct 20, 2015 3:22 pm

Re: How do I program my m4 express? (Arduino IDE)

by westfw on Tue Sep 15, 2020 9:11 pm

You said "m4 express", but your link pointed to an nRF52 board. Which one do you have?

I haven't had any trouble with M4 grand Central or M4 Metro using Arduino 1.8.12 on my Mac (10.13.6) (Well, "Hackintosh.")

westfw
 
Posts: 1715
Joined: Fri Apr 27, 2007 1:01 pm
Location: SF Bay area

Re: How do I program my m4 express? (Arduino IDE)

by jim_lee on Thu Sep 17, 2020 4:00 pm

Well.. Interesting I thought the nRF52 was just the designator for the wireless bit and it was an M4. Its the one I posted the link to.

Hang on, I'm going to go try everything dastels listed for me to try.

-jim lee

jim_lee
 
Posts: 653
Joined: Thu May 24, 2012 8:24 pm

Re: How do I program my m4 express? (Arduino IDE)

by dastels on Thu Sep 17, 2020 4:21 pm

"M4" is an unfortunate choice of branding. The nRF52840 (used in the Feather & ItsyBitsy nRF52840 boards, CLUE, and Circuit Playground Bluefruit) uses an ARM Cortex-M4 CPU core as does the ATSAMD51 line of MCUs (in the "-M4" series of boards), as does the STM32F405 (in the Feather STM32F405). Boards branded "-M4" will have a SAMD51 MCU.

Dave

dastels
 
Posts: 3410
Joined: Tue Oct 20, 2015 3:22 pm

Re: How do I program my m4 express? (Arduino IDE)

by jim_lee on Thu Sep 17, 2020 5:04 pm

OK, did the setup. I'd missed the grab new processor step. I thought I already had what it needed. Now it compiles, downloads..

I get this :
Code: Select all | TOGGLE FULL SIZE
Sketch uses 38432 bytes (4%) of program storage space. Maximum is 815104 bytes.
Global variables use 6760 bytes (2%) of dynamic memory, leaving 230808 bytes for local variables. Maximum is 237568 bytes.
Upgrading target on /dev/cu.usbmodem1421 with DFU package /private/var/folders/wt/mcbdk5yn5wz6z1zcpf20xvzw0000gn/T/arduino_build_607049/Blink.ino.zip. Flow control is disabled, Single bank, Touch disabled
########################################
####################################
Activating new firmware
Device programmed.


But no blinking. The neoPixel or dotStar glows blue/green. But the little LED is off.

-jim lee

jim_lee
 
Posts: 653
Joined: Thu May 24, 2012 8:24 pm

Re: How do I program my m4 express? (Arduino IDE)

by jim_lee on Thu Sep 17, 2020 5:17 pm

WAIT! I read more its PIN #3 has the LED. NOT pin #13.

Duh! Never figured on that.

Thanks guys! I have it blinking!

-jim lee

jim_lee
 
Posts: 653
Joined: Thu May 24, 2012 8:24 pm

Please be positive and constructive with your questions and comments.