🇺🇸Adafruit will not be shipping orders on Independence Day Monday 7/4/2022. Please allow extra time for your order to ship and plan accordingly.🇺🇸
0

Can't Upload
Moderators: adafruit_support_bill, adafruit

Please be positive and constructive with your questions and comments.

Can't Upload

by rickpeterson on Thu May 26, 2022 10:52 pm

I am using Arduino IDE version 1.8.19 with Windows 10. I was also using the IDE for ATTiny's (DigiStump) and had to make some changes which I have forgotten the details of. Now I can no longer upload to ItsyBitsy M4 Express (Uno still works). I reloaded Arduino IDE (after deleting Arduino15 directory under Users/<user account>/AppData/Local) but it still does not work. The only programmers I have for the M4 are "J-Link over OCD" and "Amtel-ICE over OCD". I have the board and port selected; but, it looses the port just after compile and produces the "Couldn't find a Board on the selected port." error message when the upload should occur. Which USB Stack (Arduino or TinyUSB) and Programmer am I suppose to be using in Arduino IDE?

Here is a screenshot:
Image
https://photos.app.goo.gl/b3DGDtmhTpRhPnKH7

rickpeterson
 
Posts: 19
Joined: Wed Dec 05, 2018 11:54 pm

Re: Can't Upload

by mikeysklar on Fri May 27, 2022 12:57 pm

You have the correct USB stack "Arduino". You probably do not have either of those programmers so neither should be selected (J-Link and OpenOCD) should have no *dot* beside them.

Here are my settings for a related M4 board.

Screen Shot 2022-05-27 at 9.45.26 AM.png
Screen Shot 2022-05-27 at 9.45.26 AM.png (549.67 KiB) Viewed 72 times


If you are not already doing it try double pressing reset to get your controller in bootloader mode just before you hit the upload button from the Arduino IDE.

mikeysklar
 
Posts: 7805
Joined: Mon Aug 01, 2016 8:10 pm

Re: Can't Upload

by rickpeterson on Fri May 27, 2022 1:35 pm

I tried double clicking the Reset hardware switch on the ItsyBitsy M4 Express before clicking the Upload software icon in the Arduino IDE; but; that causes the port to disappear in Windows 10, the pin 13 red LED turns on solid, and the DotStar turns on solid purple. I then have to click the Reset button again to get the port to reappear in Windows and the chip starts running my program (already uploaded before the problem) again.

A programmer has to be selected in the IDE and it only shows those two to choose from.

Here is a photo of the chip after double clicking the Reset switch when the port is missing in Windows (with no external power turned on the BAT pin lead):
https://photos.app.goo.gl/WMcwrHtZ9B3zTmzLA

rickpeterson
 
Posts: 19
Joined: Wed Dec 05, 2018 11:54 pm

Re: Can't Upload

by mikeysklar on Fri May 27, 2022 3:32 pm

Thank you for the picture of the board.

What else is connected to the processor?

Can you try uploading again with nothing else connected to the board.

As you can see by my screenshot no programmer is selected. Those devices are not typically used. Normally you would just be programming over the USB COM4 port which you machine has identified properly.

mikeysklar
 
Posts: 7805
Joined: Mon Aug 01, 2016 8:10 pm

Please be positive and constructive with your questions and comments.