Can't seem to get board to work, still

Please tell us which board you are using.
For CircuitPython issues, ask in the Adafruit CircuitPython forum.

Moderators: adafruit_support_bill, adafruit

Please be positive and constructive with your questions and comments.
User avatar
Daft_vagabond
 
Posts: 92
Joined: Thu May 28, 2020 2:53 pm

Can't seem to get board to work, still

Post by Daft_vagabond »

I got a new Itsy Bitsy M0 express in the mail today.

plugged it in, the demo file worked fine, the neopixel scrolled, at least.
Updated to circuit python 7.
Copied the blinking led example from Adafruit guide.
No response form the board.
Placed the original demo file back on the board as a control group, no response.
Tried opening the file in Thonny instead of MU.
Thonny says "File "<stdin>", line 11, in <module>
ImportError: no module named 'pulseio'"

I look in the lib folder, no pulseio. But also pulseio should be part of update 7.
Just in case, I downloaded the adafruit and community bundles.
No Pulseio in those either.

The board is just sitting there, the neopixel glowing a white/purple color, not responding to anything I do.

I'm only a bit frustrated and confused. I followed every guide and instruction, the steps are simple enough. I don't understand why this isn't working

User avatar
Daft_vagabond
 
Posts: 92
Joined: Thu May 28, 2020 2:53 pm

Re: Can't seem to get board to work, still

Post by Daft_vagabond »

I changed pulseio to pwmio, but that hasn't changed anything. I still can't get a response form the board or the demo file or any custom file.

User avatar
Franklin97355
 
Posts: 23910
Joined: Mon Apr 21, 2008 2:33 pm

Re: Can't seem to get board to work, still

Post by Franklin97355 »

Are you able to move the files to the Itsy? I'll check to see if there are any 'gotchas' in CP7.

User avatar
Daft_vagabond
 
Posts: 92
Joined: Thu May 28, 2020 2:53 pm

Re: Can't seem to get board to work, still

Post by Daft_vagabond »

I can move files to it, yes, but I don't know what any of the rest of what you said means

User avatar
danhalbert
 
Posts: 4649
Joined: Tue Aug 08, 2017 12:37 pm

Re: Can't seem to get board to work, still

Post by danhalbert »

pwmio is built-in, so you don't need to get it from the library bundle.

The demo program on the board may not be CircuitPython, but instead is an Arduino test program. You need to load CircuitPython onto the board. Did you download the .uf2 for CircuitPython from https://circuitpython.org/board/itsybitsy_m0_express/ ?

After you do so, double-click the reset button, so you see ITSBYBOOT. Then drag the .uf2 you downloaded to ITSYBOOT. You should then see CIRCUITPY.

Did you do this already?

If you did, and you're still having trouble:
Can you connect to the board via the "Serial" button in Mu?
What is an example file that does not work? What are the errors you see in the Serial port

User avatar
Daft_vagabond
 
Posts: 92
Joined: Thu May 28, 2020 2:53 pm

Re: Can't seem to get board to work, still

Post by Daft_vagabond »

I go it to respond, but only by giving it it's own 3v power supply, which I don't think is how it's supposed to work

User avatar
danhalbert
 
Posts: 4649
Joined: Tue Aug 08, 2017 12:37 pm

Re: Can't seem to get board to work, still

Post by danhalbert »

If you just plug the board in to USB, and measure the voltage at the "3V" pin, what do you see?

If you plug it in to USB and double-click, do you see ITSYBOOT?

Make sure you are using a good, data capable USB cable.

User avatar
Daft_vagabond
 
Posts: 92
Joined: Thu May 28, 2020 2:53 pm

Re: Can't seem to get board to work, still

Post by Daft_vagabond »

It connects to my PC just fine and I can view all the files. Voltage measures 3.3v.

User avatar
danhalbert
 
Posts: 4649
Joined: Tue Aug 08, 2017 12:37 pm

Re: Can't seem to get board to work, still

Post by danhalbert »

So I'm not sure what exactly doesn't work?

User avatar
Daft_vagabond
 
Posts: 92
Joined: Thu May 28, 2020 2:53 pm

Re: Can't seem to get board to work, still

Post by Daft_vagabond »

I suppose it doesn't, now, just not when it's being powered via USB, which isn't how I expected it to behave. While I have your attention, does the IB M0 Expreass have a function similar to pulsein form other M0 boards?

User avatar
danhalbert
 
Posts: 4649
Joined: Tue Aug 08, 2017 12:37 pm

Re: Can't seem to get board to work, still

Post by danhalbert »

PulseIn used to be in pwmio, now it's only in pulseio. There isn't room for pulseio on the M0 boards, sorry.

To see what is available on which boards, see https://circuitpython.readthedocs.io/en ... atrix.html

User avatar
Daft_vagabond
 
Posts: 92
Joined: Thu May 28, 2020 2:53 pm

Re: Can't seem to get board to work, still

Post by Daft_vagabond »

I may be wrong, but couldn't I us .time_pulse_us to get something functionally similar?

It may also be worth asking, since I haven't found an answer elsewhere yet, is there a way to read an incoming PWM signal on an M0. That's really all I need.

User avatar
danhalbert
 
Posts: 4649
Joined: Tue Aug 08, 2017 12:37 pm

Re: Can't seem to get board to work, still

Post by danhalbert »

.time_pulse_us is in MicroPython, not CircuitPython. In the standard builds of CircuitPython, there is no room for PulseIn on SAMD21 (M0). However, you could make a custom build that turned off some other things to make room. The usual thing is to turn on what you want, see whether it fits (some language builds are larger than others), and then start turning things off. Details are in https://learn.adafruit.com/building-cir ... ed-modules.

User avatar
Daft_vagabond
 
Posts: 92
Joined: Thu May 28, 2020 2:53 pm

Re: Can't seem to get board to work, still

Post by Daft_vagabond »

Alright, so I got to this part in the linux setup. I ran the "gcc-arm-none-eabi-10.3-2021.07-win32.exe", installed that and I have the "gcc-arm-none-eabi-10-2020-q4-major-x86_64-linux.tar.(bee zee two)" but I don't understand the steps for unpacking the toolchain
Attachments
s1.png
s1.png (61.7 KiB) Viewed 317 times

User avatar
danhalbert
 
Posts: 4649
Joined: Tue Aug 08, 2017 12:37 pm

Re: Can't seem to get board to work, still

Post by danhalbert »

"gcc-arm-none-eabi-10.3-2021.07-win32.exe" is for Windows, so you don't need it. What version of Linux are you running, on what machine? The commands on that page are meant to be typed into a Linux terminal.

Locked
Please be positive and constructive with your questions and comments.

Return to “Itsy Bitsy Boards”