0

Metro Minis not showing up
Moderators: adafruit_support_bill, adafruit

Please be positive and constructive with your questions and comments.

Metro Minis not showing up

by aidan4 on Fri Feb 08, 2019 7:49 pm

I recently bought two new metro minis, and neither of them are showing up when they're plugged into usb. I know that the micro usb cable works, because it is able to upload to a pro trinket. When the metro minis are plugged in, the red light flashes (about one second off, one second on, repeating). I have downloaded silabs and the FTDI driver, and restarted the computer and it still doesn't show up. When I try to upload to the metro mini, it gives the following error message:

Arduino: 1.8.8 (Mac OS X), Board: "Arduino/Genuino Uno"

Sketch uses 1426 bytes (4%) of program storage space. Maximum is 32256 bytes.
Global variables use 13 bytes (0%) of dynamic memory, leaving 2035 bytes for local variables. Maximum is 2048 bytes.
/Applications/Arduino.app/Contents/Java/hardware/tools/avr/bin/avrdude -C/Applications/Arduino.app/Contents/Java/hardware/tools/avr/etc/avrdude.conf -v -patmega328p -carduino -P/dev/cu.SLAB_USBtoUART -b115200 -D -Uflash:w:/var/folders/gz/kpjjz9f11tzbcmg0vm99k6k40000gn/T/arduino_build_41572/leverPuzzle.ino.hex:i

avrdude: Version 6.3-20171130
Copyright (c) 2000-2005 Brian Dean, http://www.bdmicro.com/
Copyright (c) 2007-2014 Joerg Wunsch

System wide configuration file is "/Applications/Arduino.app/Contents/Java/hardware/tools/avr/etc/avrdude.conf"
User configuration file is "/Users/galen/.avrduderc"
User configuration file does not exist or is not a regular file, skipping

Using Port : /dev/cu.SLAB_USBtoUART
Using Programmer : arduino
Overriding Baud Rate : 115200
avrdude: ser_open(): can't open device "/dev/cu.SLAB_USBtoUART": No such file or directory

avrdude done. Thank you.

Problem uploading to board. See http://www.arduino.cc/en/Guide/Troubleshooting#upload for suggestions.

aidan4
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2019 10:13 pm

Re: Metro Minis not showing up

by adafruit_support_carter on Fri Feb 08, 2019 8:13 pm

Does it show up in the port selection in Arduino?
Tools -> Port ->

adafruit_support_carter
 
Posts: 11091
Joined: Tue Nov 29, 2016 2:45 pm

Re: Metro Minis not showing up

by aidan4 on Fri Feb 08, 2019 8:30 pm

No, the two things that show up there are /dev/cu.Bluetooth-Incoming-Port and /dev/cu.Bluetooth-Modem

aidan4
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2019 10:13 pm

Re: Metro Minis not showing up

by adafruit_support_carter on Fri Feb 08, 2019 9:23 pm

It sounds like maybe the driver install didn't work as expected. For the current version of the Metro Mini, you do not need the FTDI drivers, since the newer version now uses the SiLabs CP2104. You mention installing both. For the SiLabs driver, how did you install it?

adafruit_support_carter
 
Posts: 11091
Joined: Tue Nov 29, 2016 2:45 pm

Re: Metro Minis not showing up

by aidan4 on Fri Feb 08, 2019 9:47 pm

I installed it from https://www.silabs.com/products/develop ... cp-drivers
I'm not sure it this is the CP2104 version (it just says CP210x, and then down by the mac option it says v5. Not sure if that's important).

aidan4
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2019 10:13 pm

Re: Metro Minis not showing up

by digital0129 on Sat Feb 09, 2019 12:08 pm

I'm having the same exact issue with my Metro Mini 328. I installed the Win x64 executables from both FTDI and SiLabs. The metro mini is powered from the USB and it has the default blinking LED program running. I've tried multiple cables, USB ports, and PCs and it won't connect to any of them nor show up in device manager. I've attempted to install the device manually, but that doesn't work either.

Any ideas?

digital0129
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Feb 09, 2019 11:57 am

Re: Metro Minis not showing up

by digital0129 on Sat Feb 09, 2019 12:21 pm

Ignore my post. Apparently the USB cable is very finicky. Needed to try 5+ cables to find one that worked correctly.

digital0129
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Feb 09, 2019 11:57 am

Re: Metro Minis not showing up

by aidan4 on Sat Feb 09, 2019 3:04 pm

So I got my code to upload from windows easily, but I have tried it on two separate macbooks (both with the silabs driver installed yesterday) and neither one worked. One was running Yosemite, and one Mojave.

aidan4
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2019 10:13 pm

Re: Metro Minis not showing up

by aidan4 on Sat Feb 09, 2019 3:23 pm

I figured it out! (At least on the mac running yosemite). I installed the legacy version of silabs, rebooted my computer, installed the legacy version again, and rebooted again and now it works!

aidan4
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2019 10:13 pm

Re: Metro Minis not showing up

by adafruit_support_carter on Sun Feb 10, 2019 2:27 pm

Glad you got it working. That's a known issue and you did the correct work around. We've added guidance about that to some pages, but doesn't look like it's on the Metro Mini setup page.

Just for reference, the guidance is:
If you are using Mac OS 10.12.6 (Sierra) and you cannot upload with the latest Mac OS VCP driver, please try the legacy v4 driver below. Note you will need to uninstall the v5 driver using uninstall.sh (in the driver package)

and they can be acquired from here:
http://community.silabs.com/t5/Interfac ... a-p/182585

adafruit_support_carter
 
Posts: 11091
Joined: Tue Nov 29, 2016 2:45 pm

Please be positive and constructive with your questions and comments.