Voting resources, early voting, and poll worker information - VOTE. ... Adafruit is open and shipping.
0

No Metro Board
Moderators: adafruit_support_bill, adafruit

Please be positive and constructive with your questions and comments.

No Metro Board

by ralphxyz on Mon Apr 06, 2020 1:51 pm

I have a Adafruit Metro Arduino but cannot select the board in the IDE.

I thought the Adafruit Metro used to be listed under boards.

Thanks for the help,
Ralph

ralphxyz
 
Posts: 46
Joined: Sun Sep 05, 2010 11:22 am

Re: No Metro Board

by dastels on Mon Apr 06, 2020 2:30 pm

Verify that you have the appropriate board support packages installed. Depending on what Metro board you have, you will need either the Adafruit AVR or SAMD (which also requires the Arduino SAMD support) board support packages.

The learning guide for your specific board should have a section on setting up the Arduino IDE for the board.

Dave

dastels
 
Posts: 3819
Joined: Tue Oct 20, 2015 3:22 pm

Re: No Metro Board

by ralphxyz on Mon Apr 06, 2020 5:23 pm

Thanks Dave, I have not seen the support packages. My Metro board is probable a older one, I do not know how to identify.

Ralph

ralphxyz
 
Posts: 46
Joined: Sun Sep 05, 2010 11:22 am

Re: No Metro Board

by ralphxyz on Mon Apr 06, 2020 5:28 pm

Where are the support packages?

ralphxyz
 
Posts: 46
Joined: Sun Sep 05, 2010 11:22 am

Re: No Metro Board

by dastels on Mon Apr 06, 2020 5:57 pm

first you need to ID your board. I expect it's one of:
https://www.adafruit.com/product/2488 (AVR)
https://www.adafruit.com/product/3505 (SAMD)
https://www.adafruit.com/product/3382 (SAMD)
https://www.adafruit.com/product/4000 (SAMD)

There's a guide that might help get you up & running: https://learn.adafruit.com/experimenters-guide-for-metro/. It will help you identify and get set up for the different versions of the Metro.

Dave

dastels
 
Posts: 3819
Joined: Tue Oct 20, 2015 3:22 pm

Re: No Metro Board

by ralphxyz on Tue Apr 07, 2020 11:18 am

I ran adafruit_drivers_2.4.0.0.exe and selected the Metro 386, but it still does display under boards.

Raln

ralphxyz
 
Posts: 46
Joined: Sun Sep 05, 2010 11:22 am

Re: No Metro Board

by ralphxyz on Tue Apr 07, 2020 11:52 am

I have the AVR Metro!

Ralph

ralphxyz
 
Posts: 46
Joined: Sun Sep 05, 2010 11:22 am

Re: No Metro Board

by dastels on Tue Apr 07, 2020 1:36 pm

Try selecting Arduino UNO as the board. The Metro 328 is a derivative of the UNO and uses the same MCU, so that *should* work.

Dave

dastels
 
Posts: 3819
Joined: Tue Oct 20, 2015 3:22 pm

Re: No Metro Board

by ralphxyz on Tue Apr 07, 2020 2:37 pm

Tried that, does not work:
Code: Select all | TOGGLE FULL SIZE
the selected serial port
 does not exist or your board is not connected

ralphxyz
 
Posts: 46
Joined: Sun Sep 05, 2010 11:22 am

Re: No Metro Board

by dastels on Tue Apr 07, 2020 3:12 pm

You've verified that you have the correct serial port?

This is probably as far as I can go since you're using Windows, and this is sounding Windows specific.

I've reached out to see if anyone else has run into this.

Dave

dastels
 
Posts: 3819
Joined: Tue Oct 20, 2015 3:22 pm

Re: No Metro Board

by adafruit_support_carter on Tue Apr 07, 2020 3:23 pm

Let's make sure the PC is seeing the board, specifically, the CP2104. Can you post a screen shot of what shows up in Device Manager?

adafruit_support_carter
 
Posts: 17179
Joined: Tue Nov 29, 2016 2:45 pm

Re: No Metro Board

by ralphxyz on Tue Apr 07, 2020 5:57 pm

Thanks for the help.
It is showing up in Device Manager.
Image
https://photos.app.goo.gl/1vtX2quLFGe6frLY7
I increased the "Bits per second" setting to 115200

Ralph

ralphxyz
 
Posts: 46
Joined: Sun Sep 05, 2010 11:22 am

Re: No Metro Board

by adafruit2 on Tue Apr 07, 2020 6:10 pm

hi please check thru our arduino guides to learn how to get started :)
https://learn.adafruit.com/lesson-0-getting-started

adafruit2
Site Admin
 
Posts: 19406
Joined: Fri Mar 11, 2005 7:36 pm

Re: No Metro Board

by ralphxyz on Tue Apr 07, 2020 8:50 pm

Thanks but. Those are some really great pages but they do not address my problem of the Metro not showing up in the Boards.
The install instructions are about installing Arduino not the drivers for the Metro.

ralphxyz
 
Posts: 46
Joined: Sun Sep 05, 2010 11:22 am

Re: No Metro Board

by ralphxyz on Wed Apr 08, 2020 1:19 pm

Finally! I have the Adafruit Metro showing up in the Arduino IDE Boards:
https://drive.google.com/open?id=1ruqAG ... cnWgQ6-l2K
https://drive.google.com/open?id=1smAgq ... UniYMaA4Yg

I still get the same error!
Code: Select all | TOGGLE FULL SIZE
avrdude: AVR device initialized and ready to accept instructions

Reading | ################################################## | 100% 0.00s

avrdude: Device signature = 0x1e950f (probably m328p)
avrdude: reading input file "C:\Users\Ralph\AppData\Local\Temp\arduino_build_538436/Stepper_Bounce_Works.ino.hex"
avrdude: writing flash (5250 bytes):

Writing | ################################################## | 100% 2.04s

avrdude: 5250 bytes of flash written
avrdude: verifying flash memory against C:\Users\Ralph\AppData\Local\Temp\arduino_build_538436/Stepper_Bounce_Works.ino.hex:
avrdude: load data flash data from input file C:\Users\Ralph\AppData\Local\Temp\arduino_build_538436/Stepper_Bounce_Works.ino.hex:
avrdude: input file C:\Users\Ralph\AppData\Local\Temp\arduino_build_538436/Stepper_Bounce_Works.ino.hex contains 5250 bytes
avrdude: reading on-chip flash data:

Reading | ################################################## | 100% 1.82s

avrdude: verifying ...
avrdude: verification error, first mismatch at byte 0x003d
         0xd4 != 0x94
avrdude: verification error; content mismatch

avrdude done.  Thank you.

the selected serial port
 does not exist or your board is not connected


It compiles fine but dies with the verification, Serial Port not found!

Ralph

ralphxyz
 
Posts: 46
Joined: Sun Sep 05, 2010 11:22 am

Please be positive and constructive with your questions and comments.