0

Grand Central as HID
Moderators: adafruit_support_bill, adafruit

Please be positive and constructive with your questions and comments.

Grand Central as HID

by sborgie on Sun Apr 18, 2021 7:21 am

Im am building a button box for Game control use, as an improved replacement for the Saitek sidepanel.
I bought an Adafruit GrandCentral, and uploaded an IDE sketch based on encoder.h.
When I plug in the GrandCentral in my PC it is recognised as a COM device, instead of a HID. My game (FarmingSimulator) does not utilize COM devices as inputdevice.

I have installed the W10 drivers available from the adafruit GC learn page.

How can I make the GC be know as a HID device?
Attachments
2knobs.ino
(1.25 KiB) Downloaded 6 times

sborgie
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Apr 18, 2021 7:15 am

Re: Grand Central as HID

by blnkjns on Sun Apr 18, 2021 8:33 am

A Grand Central is a bit overkill, I would go with a Micro or other 32U4 board, but the problem is you don't use the HID library:
Under examples->USB->Keyboard are examples using keyboard.h

blnkjns
 
Posts: 638
Joined: Fri Oct 02, 2020 3:33 am

Re: Grand Central as HID

by sborgie on Mon Apr 19, 2021 2:49 pm

I bought the Grand Central because of the number of pins available. I build a box with lots of buttons and switches.
Thanks, I added the keyboard.h, I see in devicemanager that a HID device is added, but it is not recognized as a keyboard.
Also I think there is something missing in sketch. How do I code the Rotaty Encoders as 'keyboard' input?
Can you see what is wrong with this code?
Ultimatly I want to address 4 rotary encoders and a bunch of buttons in a 8x4 button matrix.

sborgie
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Apr 18, 2021 7:15 am

Please be positive and constructive with your questions and comments.