Microcontroller Selection Assistance - LED projects

Please tell us which board you are using.
For CircuitPython issues, ask in the Adafruit CircuitPython forum.

Moderators: adafruit_support_bill, adafruit

Please be positive and constructive with your questions and comments.
ButterflyChorus

Microcontroller Selection Assistance - LED projects

Post by ButterflyChorus »

I'm hoping someone can assist me with how to best select a microcontroller for my project.
While I've done electronics and programming before, I'm new to putting them together while using microcontrollers.

The first project I want to do is a version of the Cyberfalls Wig.
https://learn.adafruit.com/neopixel-cyb ... ython-code
My wig will require more than the 100 LEDs, so the original controller for this project won't work for me.
I was estimating 4 meters or 240 LEDs total in ten 16 inch strips, with the possibility of a couple more strips if needed.
(My friend wants to do 8 meters in ten 32 inch strips or 480 LEDs, but we'll cross that bridge after I do the first one. )

I read through the Kamui Cosplay book, but they talk about an Arduino Uno which appears to be discontinued.
1. Is the Metro comparable to the Uno?

2. More the point, how do I determine whether a microcontroller can accomplish a specific LED project?
a) As for number of controllable pins: LEDs appear to use the GPIO pins as long as those pins aren't otherwise reserved. Yes?
b) Is there a method for roughly estimating the amount of RAM a project uses to compare against the ability of the processor (Or more simply, the max number of LEDs a microcontroller can handle)?

The Cyberfalls project does provide CircuitPython code.
Some future projects I'm looking forward to (also on the "learning" portion of the website) are for use with CircuitPython, so I was hoping I could start with that language to make future projects easier/more consistent.