0

MakeCode Arcade Background Image
Moderators: adafruit_support_bill, adafruit

Please be positive and constructive with your questions and comments.

MakeCode Arcade Background Image

by sw1tch73ch on Sun Jun 30, 2019 4:54 pm

I want to load an already created background image (160x128 pixels) into Makecode Arcade. Is there a way to import one? I've already drawn what I need, I don't want to draw it yet again - especially since the web based picture drawing tool doesn't scroll well and I want to zoom in so it's easy to place the pixels carefully (and since I can't scroll up and down or left and right, I only get a tiny portion of the edit window and that is it).

sw1tch73ch
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Sun Mar 06, 2016 2:11 am

Re: MakeCode Arcade Background Image

by johnpark on Mon Jul 01, 2019 11:24 am

Yes, you can use the Asset Tool to import a graphic -- this guide explains the process. https://learn.adafruit.com/next-level-m ... asset-tool

One note, the MakeCode Arcade screen dimensions are 160x120.

johnpark
 
Posts: 586
Joined: Wed Mar 25, 2009 2:15 pm

Re: MakeCode Arcade Background Image

by sw1tch73ch on Mon Jul 01, 2019 8:15 pm

I see why it was hard to find. It's one of the "unsupported" tools.

Thanks!

sw1tch73ch
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Sun Mar 06, 2016 2:11 am

Re: MakeCode Arcade Background Image

by johnpark on Tue Jul 02, 2019 12:02 pm

Yes, the focus of the MSFT team is on using the in-browser sprite editor, particularly when used in a classroom environment, in order to encourage creation of images rather than importing things. But it sure is handy to use other tools and import them if you're going for more detailed work : ]

johnpark
 
Posts: 586
Joined: Wed Mar 25, 2009 2:15 pm

Re: MakeCode Arcade Background Image

by wimberlyw on Fri Jul 05, 2019 1:57 pm

If you wanted to add like 2 frames of animation to the background, would you just put in a comma and add the next frame's hex values, or would it be more complicated than that?

wimberlyw
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Jul 05, 2019 11:35 am

Re: MakeCode Arcade Background Image

by johnpark on Mon Jul 08, 2019 1:59 pm

For animation of the background you can create multiple blocks of the set background type and then in your code flip between them.

johnpark
 
Posts: 586
Joined: Wed Mar 25, 2009 2:15 pm

Re: MakeCode Arcade Background Image

by wimberlyw on Mon Jul 08, 2019 3:41 pm

Gotcha, that makes sense.

wimberlyw
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Jul 05, 2019 11:35 am

Please be positive and constructive with your questions and comments.