Due to high demand expect some shipping delays at this time, orders may not ship for 1-2 business days.
0

Corrupt screen on Clue
Moderators: adafruit_support_bill, adafruit

Please be positive and constructive with your questions and comments.

Corrupt screen on Clue

by wmerkens on Sun Oct 24, 2021 1:55 am

I have a new Clue but after loading Circuitpython 7 and the required libs, then running the spirit demo the screen is always corrupt. I reformat the unit and redid all the steps to set it up but it's still corrupt. I have attached a pic.
IMG_20211023_232243a.png
IMG_20211023_232243a.png (284.53 KiB) Viewed 242 times

wmerkens
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Apr 03, 2021 5:13 pm

Re: Corrupt screen on Clue

by adafruit_support_carter on Tue Oct 26, 2021 12:45 pm

Can't really make out what is happening in that photo. It looks like there is some kind of output on the screen at least? But can't see what. Can you post a higher res photo.

adafruit_support_carter
 
Posts: 21917
Joined: Tue Nov 29, 2016 2:45 pm

Re: Corrupt screen on Clue

by wmerkens on Tue Oct 26, 2021 7:06 pm

This forum only allows 1MB pics but what you see is accurate, the screen is that faint and you cannot read anything clear on it.
IMG_20211026_165526-b.png
Another pic of the corruption
IMG_20211026_165526-b.png (826.94 KiB) Viewed 227 times



Just in case that does not do it, here is a google link
https://photos.app.goo.gl/mrkrdFjXmXraFXAn8

wmerkens
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Apr 03, 2021 5:13 pm

Re: Corrupt screen on Clue

by adafruit_support_carter on Wed Oct 27, 2021 12:27 pm

Thanks. That photo helps. That is really weird.

As another way to test the display, try downloading the precompiled example from here:
https://learn.adafruit.com/adafruit-clue/arduino-test
Download the UF2 by clicking the green button that says CLUE_TEST.UF2.

You don't need Arduino to actually run the example. Double press the reset button on the CLUE to get the BOOT folder to show up, and then drag the downloaded CLUE_TEST.UF2 file to the BOOT folder. It'll reset and run once the copy is complete.

Any change to the screen?

adafruit_support_carter
 
Posts: 21917
Joined: Tue Nov 29, 2016 2:45 pm

Re: Corrupt screen on Clue

by wmerkens on Wed Oct 27, 2021 8:50 pm

Nope, here is a new screenshot
IMG_20211027_184245-b.jpg
IMG_20211027_184245-b.jpg (239.68 KiB) Viewed 216 times


just in case google link

https://photos.app.goo.gl/cY8Rzoch7TLZffxb9

wmerkens
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Apr 03, 2021 5:13 pm

Re: Corrupt screen on Clue

by adafruit_support_carter on Thu Oct 28, 2021 11:25 am

Thanks. That test would indicate it must be something hardware related. Let's check for anything obvious with the hardware. Can you post a photo of the backside of the CLUE. Please show the whole board, but the main item of interest will be the ribbon cable:

clue.jpg
clue.jpg (104.55 KiB) Viewed 211 times

adafruit_support_carter
 
Posts: 21917
Joined: Tue Nov 29, 2016 2:45 pm

Re: Corrupt screen on Clue

by wmerkens on Thu Oct 28, 2021 10:30 pm

Ok here is a pic of the connector on the back.
IMG_20211028_201221-c.jpg
IMG_20211028_201221-c.jpg (192.26 KiB) Viewed 208 times




Just in case a link to a google pic version
https://photos.app.goo.gl/iYWhkW93UF5ufELN6

wmerkens
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Apr 03, 2021 5:13 pm

Re: Corrupt screen on Clue

by adafruit_support_carter on Fri Oct 29, 2021 10:33 am

Thanks. That all looks generally as it should. Not sure what's happening, let's just replace it.

Send an email to support@adafruit.com with a link to this thread and your order number and they can send you a replacement CLUE.

adafruit_support_carter
 
Posts: 21917
Joined: Tue Nov 29, 2016 2:45 pm

Please be positive and constructive with your questions and comments.