Due to high demand, expect some shipping delays at this time - orders may not ship for up to 2-3 business days.
0

Arduino IDE won't work with my CLUE
Moderators: adafruit_support_bill, adafruit

Please be positive and constructive with your questions and comments.

Arduino IDE won't work with my CLUE

by excavatoree on Wed May 13, 2020 2:02 pm

When I try to install the "Adafruit nRF52" per the directions, I get this:
Error Message.png
Error message in board manager window
Error Message.png (21.62 KiB) Viewed 156 times


There are a lot of messages in the other window, this is just a piece:
status.png
status.png (86.23 KiB) Viewed 156 times


I believe I have the correct board manager URL:
board man url.png
board man url.png (15.33 KiB) Viewed 156 times


I'll admit, I'm ignorant about how all this works. I think I've followed the directions to use the CLUE with the Arduino IDE properly, however. Can anyone help me figure out what's wrong?

excavatoree
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Sun Jan 16, 2011 3:39 pm
Location: North Georgia, USA

Re: Arduino IDE won't work with my CLUE

by dastels on Wed May 13, 2020 3:00 pm

One thing I see in the second image is "Arduino UNO on COM4" ... the CLUE is not an Arduino UNO. To compile code to be loaded onto it you will need to select the CLUE as the board to use (the Tools->Board setting).

Please read through the Arduino sections of https://learn.adafruit.com/adafruit-clue for further instructions.

Dave

dastels
 
Posts: 9721
Joined: Tue Oct 20, 2015 3:22 pm

Re: Arduino IDE won't work with my CLUE

by adafruit_support_carter on Wed May 13, 2020 3:01 pm

That Boards Manager output does not look correct. Did you add the Board Manager URL as shown here?
https://learn.adafruit.com/adafruit-clu ... lation-5-4

The Adafruit nRF52 BSP is currently at release 0.20.1:
https://github.com/adafruit/Adafruit_nR ... o/releases
and your Boards Manager should look more like this:
Screenshot from 2020-05-13 11-54-10.png
Screenshot from 2020-05-13 11-54-10.png (22.24 KiB) Viewed 153 times

adafruit_support_carter
 
Posts: 23511
Joined: Tue Nov 29, 2016 2:45 pm

Re: Arduino IDE won't work with my CLUE

by excavatoree on Wed May 13, 2020 3:34 pm

dastels wrote:One thing I see in the second image is "Arduino UNO on COM4" ... the CLUE is not an Arduino UNO. To compile code to be loaded onto it you will need to select the CLUE as the board to use (the Tools->Board setting).

Please read through the Arduino sections of https://learn.adafruit.com/adafruit-clue for further instructions.

Dave


I can't even install the support for the board. I can't change the board from "UNO" to the Clue until I do. That's what I'm asking about. When I finally install the suport, I can change to the CLUE board, but not until.
Last edited by excavatoree on Wed May 13, 2020 3:38 pm, edited 1 time in total.

excavatoree
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Sun Jan 16, 2011 3:39 pm
Location: North Georgia, USA

Re: Arduino IDE won't work with my CLUE

by excavatoree on Wed May 13, 2020 3:37 pm

adafruit_support_carter wrote:That Boards Manager output does not look correct. Did you add the Board Manager URL as shown here?
https://learn.adafruit.com/adafruit-clu ... lation-5-4


Yes. Please see my last picture of my board manager URLs. I believe it's correct. (unless I'm missing something)

excavatoree
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Sun Jan 16, 2011 3:39 pm
Location: North Georgia, USA

Re: Arduino IDE won't work with my CLUE

by adafruit_support_carter on Wed May 13, 2020 4:07 pm

Oops. Sorry. Didn't see the screen capture with the URLs.

Yes. That looks correct. Really weird. Try deleting the other entries and make it so it is the only URL in the list.

adafruit_support_carter
 
Posts: 23511
Joined: Tue Nov 29, 2016 2:45 pm

Re: Arduino IDE won't work with my CLUE

by excavatoree on Wed May 13, 2020 4:27 pm

I found the problem. I'm embarassed to say it was my Arduino network settings. I'd have never found it if I wasn't checking my board manager URLs, and noticed the "network" tab. Somehow, it was set to "auto detect" proxy. I set it to "no proxy" and it worked.

I tried to edit the thread title to add "fixed," but either I'm unable to, or I can't figure that out, either.

Thanks very much.

excavatoree
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Sun Jan 16, 2011 3:39 pm
Location: North Georgia, USA

Re: Arduino IDE won't work with my CLUE

by adafruit_support_carter on Wed May 13, 2020 4:35 pm

No worries. Glad you figured it out. Let us know if you run into any other issues.

adafruit_support_carter
 
Posts: 23511
Joined: Tue Nov 29, 2016 2:45 pm

Re: Arduino IDE won't work with my CLUE

by dastels on Wed May 13, 2020 6:49 pm

Excellent! Full speed ahead, then. Have fun!

dastels
 
Posts: 9721
Joined: Tue Oct 20, 2015 3:22 pm

Please be positive and constructive with your questions and comments.