0

I've got one of those CLUE with bad colors
Moderators: adafruit_support_bill, adafruit

Please be positive and constructive with your questions and comments.

I've got one of those CLUE with bad colors

by neradoc on Mon Jan 11, 2021 7:07 am

Hi,
I got a clue (haha) last month (from a local Adafruit reseller) and now that I am testing more colored stuff on it I discovered the colors looked limited and washed out so after some searching I found the topics on the forum that relate to that, the blue screen tab (which is what I had), the 4 test uf2 that perform as described on a faulty clue (files 2 and 3 get good colors) and I added the stuff that was suggested to fix it in my CPY code: clue.display.bus.send(0x26, b"\x04") and it seems to work well now.

So, I made it work for me, but is there anything I missed ?

neradoc
 
Posts: 15
Joined: Wed Apr 27, 2016 2:38 pm

Re: I've got one of those CLUE with bad colors

by adafruit_support_carter on Mon Jan 11, 2021 1:09 pm

Don't think you missed anything. We can replace the CLUE.

Send an email to support@adafruit.com with a link to this thread and your order number and they can send you a replacement CLUE.

adafruit_support_carter
 
Posts: 21072
Joined: Tue Nov 29, 2016 2:45 pm

Re: I've got one of those CLUE with bad colors

by neradoc on Thu Jan 14, 2021 5:28 am

Thanks!
I don't think I can do that though, I bought from a local reseller in France.

neradoc
 
Posts: 15
Joined: Wed Apr 27, 2016 2:38 pm

Re: I've got one of those CLUE with bad colors

by adafruit_support_carter on Thu Jan 14, 2021 12:18 pm

OK. Email support above anyway. They can help with what options are available.

adafruit_support_carter
 
Posts: 21072
Joined: Tue Nov 29, 2016 2:45 pm

Re: I've got one of those CLUE with bad colors

by wminarik on Sun Apr 04, 2021 2:20 pm

Clue_Before_After.jpg
Clue_Before_After.jpg (134.65 KiB) Viewed 289 times

I've finally started playing with the Clue board in Adabox #15 (long story), and I've one of the Clues with the infamous blue screen tab and the washed out colors.
Here using purple.bmp and the example code from Carter Nelson's excellent displayio guide.
Using the gamma fix code from the forum: https://forums.adafruit.com/viewtopic.php?f=65&t=168145&start=60#p825486 fixes the problem
Code: Select all | TOGGLE FULL SIZE
display.bus.send(0x26, b"\x04")

when called right after display initialization:
The change doesn't persist after reset - will this fix have to be called in each CircuitPython script, or is there a way to permanently make this change? I'd like to use this board for teaching coding, and so would like the process streamlined.

wminarik
 
Posts: 19
Joined: Tue Jan 17, 2017 1:30 pm

Re: I've got one of those CLUE with bad colors

by adafruit_support_carter on Mon Apr 05, 2021 11:10 am

@wminarik Can you please put all this in a new separate thread. That will make it easier for us to track your specific issue. You can link to the new thread here if you want to make it easier to find and I'll respond there.

adafruit_support_carter
 
Posts: 21072
Joined: Tue Nov 29, 2016 2:45 pm

Re: I've got one of those CLUE with bad colors

by wminarik on Mon Apr 05, 2021 1:32 pm


wminarik
 
Posts: 19
Joined: Tue Jan 17, 2017 1:30 pm

Please be positive and constructive with your questions and comments.