Building a home gym timer display

For CircuitPython issues, ask in the Adafruit CircuitPython forum.

Moderators: adafruit_support_bill, adafruit

Please be positive and constructive with your questions and comments.
blindedscience

Building a home gym timer display

Post by blindedscience »

I'm in the planning phases for a home gym timer display. I want this to be able to display either a standard start/stop timer, or start a tabata, and I figure I can do that with button A and button B input, but ultimately, I want to drive a LED panel through the Matrix Portal M4 to display the time, where the clue TFT would just display what timer cycle is running.
I haven't done a two-board design before - I'm still relatively new to this and I'm not even sure this is wise. I was thinking I'd use the CLUE for input and sound feedback since I like the buttons on that better than the M4, and use I2C to send button state (start/stop clock A/B) to the M4. I'm considering other functions (use the CLUE sensors to send a go-to-sleep signal when there's no light in the gym, or send temperature and humidity data for idle cycle display).
Is I2C, as I'm thinking, the best way to do this, or should I be considering/looking at something else? Should I be using two boards, or is there an alternative for driving everything from the CLUE that would replace the M4?
I'm pretty sure I can get this to work as I have it planned, but I don't want to back myself into any design corners. :)

mikeysklar

Re: Building a home gym timer display

Post by mikeysklar »

The MatrixPortal does have buttons and can drive a display via SPI or I2C so the clue is not critical.

i2c is pretty BANNED trying to communicate chip to chip. It is awesome for controller <--> peripheral scenarios.

Since the MatrixPortal and CLUE support UART I think that would be the easiest way to share information chip to chip.

blindedscience

Post by blindedscience »