Due to high demand, expect some shipping delays at this time - orders may not ship for up to 2-3 business days.
0

Cannot use CLUE example code - Failed to find BMP280?
Moderators: adafruit_support_bill, adafruit

Please be positive and constructive with your questions and comments.

Cannot use CLUE example code - Failed to find BMP280?

by clpie on Tue Nov 02, 2021 3:59 pm

Hi there,

I am just getting started and I am having a problem running the example code... I receive this error message:

Code: Select all | TOGGLE FULL SIZE
code.py output:
Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "code.py", line 1, in <module>
  File "adafruit_clue.py", line 930, in <module>
  File "adafruit_clue.py", line 233, in __init__
  File "adafruit_bmp280.py", line 443, in __init__
  File "adafruit_bmp280.py", line 131, in __init__
RuntimeError: Failed to find BMP280! Chip ID 0x0


When this line of code is executed:

Code: Select all | TOGGLE FULL SIZE
from adafruit_clue import clue


Which means I cannot get the examples to work.

boot_out.txt:

Code: Select all | TOGGLE FULL SIZE
Adafruit CircuitPython 7.0.0 on 2021-09-20; Adafruit CLUE nRF52840 Express with nRF52840
Board ID:clue_nrf52840_express


I'm using the latest libraries and bundle:

adafruit-circuitpython-clue_nrf52840_express-en_GB-7.0.0.uf2

adafruit-circuitpython-bundle-7.x-mpy-20211101.zip

Does anyone know what might be happening here?

Thank you :)

clpie
 
Posts: 21
Joined: Fri Jul 02, 2021 5:38 am

Re: Cannot use CLUE example code - Failed to find BMP280?

by clpie on Tue Nov 02, 2021 4:32 pm

OK, I have discovered this only happens when I connect a DPS310 Pressure Sensor via Stemma QT....

It is somehow interfering with the onboard pressure sensor?

clpie
 
Posts: 21
Joined: Fri Jul 02, 2021 5:38 am

Re: Cannot use CLUE example code - Failed to find BMP280?

by clpie on Tue Nov 02, 2021 4:39 pm

Also, with an external temp/humidity sensor (SHT31) connected the example for temperature and humidity doesn't work:

Code: Select all | TOGGLE FULL SIZE
Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "code.py", line 27, in <module>
  File "adafruit_clue.py", line 532, in humidity
  File "adafruit_sht31d.py", line 376, in relative_humidity
  File "adafruit_sht31d.py", line 259, in _read
  File "adafruit_sht31d.py", line 240, in _data
  File "adafruit_sht31d.py", line 140, in _unpack
RuntimeError: CRC mismatch

clpie
 
Posts: 21
Joined: Fri Jul 02, 2021 5:38 am

Re: Cannot use CLUE example code - Failed to find BMP280?

by clpie on Tue Nov 02, 2021 5:10 pm

I can run examples fine, I am just now wondering how to use external sensors:

viewtopic.php?f=65&t=184789

thank you :)

clpie
 
Posts: 21
Joined: Fri Jul 02, 2021 5:38 am

Re: Cannot use CLUE example code - Failed to find BMP280?

by adafruit_support_carter on Tue Nov 02, 2021 5:53 pm

You are running into an I2C address conflict. The BMP280 on the CLUE uses address 0x77. That is the same default address for the DPS310. You can change the address of the DPS310 to its alternate 0x76 address by soldering close the jumper on the back:
jumper.jpg
jumper.jpg (56.73 KiB) Viewed 372 times


You will then need to specify that alternate address when setting up the DPS310 in your code:
Code: Select all | TOGGLE FULL SIZE
dps310 = adafruit_dps310.DPS310(i2c, address=0x76)

adafruit_support_carter
 
Posts: 23506
Joined: Tue Nov 29, 2016 2:45 pm

Please be positive and constructive with your questions and comments.