0

Accents cant be entered into the patt edit mode
Moderators: altitude, adafruit_support_bill, adafruit, hamburgers, phono

Please be positive and constructive with your questions and comments.

Accents cant be entered into the patt edit mode

by delugedj on Fri Apr 22, 2022 12:16 pm

Hello! :)

I’m really unable to figure this out it seems. Perhaps someone could help me please?
For some reason I am unable to enter accents in PATTERN EDIT mode As shown in the video https://photos.app.goo.gl/ueL9vRDxouQ5Q39F7
REST and SLIDE are just fine but ACCENT refuses to work for some reason.

I have flashed with sokkOS 1.9.1
I have flashed with 1.0.5 from x0x website

Even after successfully flashing with 1.9.1 conbox still shows me 1.0.5 as the FW when I hit connect

I’m out of ideas. Any help is gratefully appreciated


delugedj
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Apr 22, 2022 12:07 pm

Re: Accents cant be entered into the patt edit mode

by MMM on Sat Jun 11, 2022 10:01 am

delugedj wrote:Even after successfully flashing with 1.9.1 conbox still shows me 1.0.5 as the FW when I hit connect


That's normal.
My first question would be whether the Accent button is working at all. Cann you accent notes "on the fly" in Pattern Play Mode?
MMM
 
Posts: 497
Joined: Tue Apr 24, 2012 1:51 am

Re: Accents cant be entered into the patt edit mode

by delugedj on Sat Jun 11, 2022 10:20 am

Thanks for getting back to me, I Had given up on this thread. Appreciate the input !

I cannot get the accent button to light up no matter what mode I’m in. Rest and slide work fine though.

delugedj
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Apr 22, 2022 12:07 pm

Re: Accents cant be entered into the patt edit mode

by MMM on Sun Jun 12, 2022 11:53 am

delugedj wrote:Thanks for getting back to me, I Had given up on this thread. Appreciate the input !

I cannot get the accent button to light up no matter what mode I’m in. Rest and slide work fine though.


But that doesn't answer my question...
That's why I asked about the behavior in Pattern Play Mode. Your video only showed that the LED doesn't light up; this still leaves open the possibility that Accent works and just the LED is dead.
Existing patterns can be temporarily modified in Pattern Play mode by pressing Rest, Slide or Accent.
MMM
 
Posts: 497
Joined: Tue Apr 24, 2012 1:51 am

Re: Accents cant be entered into the patt edit mode

by MMM on Sun Jun 26, 2022 6:01 am

Just a quick refresher.

I can help to fix (or fix myself) probably any malfunctioning x0xb0x; but we first need to find out what exactly is wrong with it.
MMM
 
Posts: 497
Joined: Tue Apr 24, 2012 1:51 am

Re: Accents cant be entered into the patt edit mode

by delugedj on Tue Jul 05, 2022 9:21 am

hey man, thanks again for your help with this. I seem to somehow have had a retard moment. In PATT EDIT now its very clear the accent button is working fine, just no LED. Is it hard to replace the LED?

delugedj
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Apr 22, 2022 12:07 pm

Re: Accents cant be entered into the patt edit mode

by MMM on Tue Jul 05, 2022 6:12 pm

That's good news (and important information) because now we've narrowed everything down significantly.

Still I wouldn't jump to conclusions. The LED isn't lighting up - that much is clear. There are several possible reasons for this:

- LED is dead
- LED is soldered in backwards
- connection between LED and processor is broken (or cold solder joint)
- connection between LED and ground is broken (or cold solder joint)
- that particular processor pin is broken
- (other)

I personally don't find the LED hard to replace but I have lots of experience in doing this.
How about starting with a visual inspection? Is the LED mounted correctly (one side is flat)? Do the solder joints look ok?
MMM
 
Posts: 497
Joined: Tue Apr 24, 2012 1:51 am

Please be positive and constructive with your questions and comments.