0

does x0x need to warm up?
Moderators: altitude, adafruit_support_bill, adafruit, hamburgers, phono

Please be positive and constructive with your questions and comments.

Re: does x0x need to warm up?

by antto on Thu Feb 16, 2017 2:43 pm

yes, i heard something and i'm almost certain it's the thing you call "gritty"
the 50Hz hum is "interacting" with the x0x at certain frequencies

this "interaction" is too audible, it's not normal
you should figure out where it comes from and get rid of it (unless you like it)

i have the ba662clown in one of my x0xb0xes.. there's nothing special about it as far as i'm concerned
if you're going to go for it, then you should know a few important things:
1) don't put the BA6110 and BA662 both at the same time
2) if you'll put the BA662 - you gotta remove the four transistors Q1, Q2, Q3, Q4
3) even after all that effort, nothing magical's gonna happen

antto
 
Posts: 1530
Joined: Thu Apr 15, 2010 3:21 pm
Location: 127.0.0.1

Re: does x0x need to warm up?

by human fly on Thu Feb 16, 2017 2:57 pm

ok, thanks for info about the ba662. -clown, lol.
i'll just move the x0x;.. it's a right bodge at the moment,
and my amp is a battered old 2+sub pc thing, that i've
probably vibrated to bits by now. has served well, for
temporary locations over time, non-critical auditioning...
i made a pile of plugins with it, and it was useful when
i lived in the mobile home, to just have the sub a few feet
away, and the two little monitors for mid/top, just to give
me a certain idea of the 'body' of the sound. but i've cranked
it up for a walk outside too often, i reckon. and i ought to have
some better speakers again. everything has had to be temporary
for some time.(a little insight haha) - ok, so i'll try that, Doctor.
human fly
 
Posts: 48
Joined: Sat Feb 19, 2011 8:21 am

Re: does x0x need to warm up?

by human fly on Fri Feb 17, 2017 3:06 am

how weird... i can't find that 'grit' now in the audio file :-) ??
maybe you are right, a 'sympathetic resonance' from the sub cabinet,
or something in that audio line...

but i have figured out which bit was the 'long' step entry decay, it is this
one, short file:

https://app.box.com/s/tivtlv608uv4yowhwqbhpphv9iu7524h

is that too long? or normal?

and here are some examples of sounds i haven't yet got to with the TT:
accent rest ghost note: (on x0xb0x)
https://app.box.com/s/k7qsox9fynvf5q4lr7b32qpx04sujlg0
'singing twang' (haha i know you love these terms)
https://app.box.com/s/u0630bfgco40ypvoqrmjy9bhcpecuwky

https://app.box.com/s/pf6tan7bj3u7e27j33wvxhrxc00l3oal


and hey... have a look at this...acrylic cases for RE-303, and the drawing for it...
if these could be made into a hybrid with thhe pactec pt10 drawing.... 8-)))

http://privat.bahnhof.se/wb447909/dinsy ... vA.dxf.zip
http://privat.bahnhof.se/wb447909/dinsy ... vA.dxf.zip

hope these links work:

Image: http://www.bilder-upload.eu/thumb/2e730a-1487288341.jpg (http://www.bilder-upload.eu/show.php?fi ... 288341.jpg)

Image: http://www.bilder-upload.eu/thumb/76f267-1487288370.jpg (http://www.bilder-upload.eu/show.php?fi ... 288370.jpg)
-----------
human fly
 
Posts: 48
Joined: Sat Feb 19, 2011 8:21 am

Re: does x0x need to warm up?

by antto on Sat Feb 18, 2017 4:13 am

the ghost-accent (accent on a rest) is not possible on the 303 sequencer
nor is the ghost-slide (slide from a rest)
nor the double-up octave in the pattern

it might sound weird but these things make patterns sound less authentic
some people (familiar with the 303 sound) will notice "something weird about the sound" but probably won't be able to pin-point exactly what it is, but they will ask "which clone is that? x0xb0x? well it doesn't nail the 303 sound"

the bassbot is also guilty, it lets you make ghost slides (pitch/time mode fail)

antto
 
Posts: 1530
Joined: Thu Apr 15, 2010 3:21 pm
Location: 127.0.0.1

Please be positive and constructive with your questions and comments.