I have no idea what i'm doing. Please help.

x0x0x0x0x0x

Moderators: altitude, adafruit_support_bill, adafruit, phono, hamburgers

Please be positive and constructive with your questions and comments.
Lucke

I have no idea what i'm doing. Please help.

Post by Lucke »

I'm just getting started with using MIDI and DAWs.

I'm using Ableton and trying to get a modded XOX to connect to it so I can program beats using the PC rather than the keyboard on the XOX.

So far from searching forums I've heard how the USB on the XOX is only for updating firmware and not for actually connecting for MIDI? But have also heard people say they've edited MIDI via USB?

I can't get my XOX to be seen in Device Manager. I've tried following links and doing FTDI installs. CDM21236 - if that helps?

I'm at a loss for what to do other than buy a MIDI interface and see if that works.

Any help and/or advice is much appreciated.

Lucke

Re: I have no idea what i'm doing. Please help.

Post by Lucke »

UPDATE: I've got c0nbx working and it says it is detecting the X0X!

I am now looking into getting MarOs for pattern editing on the PC. Not really sure how this fits in with Ableton yet as mentioned I'm totally new to all this, but should be fun to figure it out.

Currently when I go to check the firmware of my X0X on cbox it doesn't detect any... So trying to update the firmware... Could someone help with letting me know what firmware I need and where to get it?

As for getting Mar0S to work, I have the Mar0S15 and MarOS150 folders but don't really know what I'm supposed to do with them... When I go to select the hex's of them in cnb0x it says 'Error: couldn't get DeviceID string'. I am in bootload mode in case you're wondering.

NOTE: Cbox is a banned spam word apparently so I had to do a work around on how I spell it. Not ideal....

Lucke

Post by Lucke »

Seems it wasn't the x0x that was being detected which was the reason for the errors ins conb0x.