📬❄️📦Adafruit Holiday Shipping Deadlines 2019: Attention all domestic customers! Please place UPS Ground and USPS First Class & Priority orders by 11am ET Monday December 9, 2019 📬❄️📦 Attention all international customers! Please place all UPS WORLDWIDE EXPRESS; SAVER, and DHL EXPRESS WORLDWIDE orders by 11am ET Monday December 9, 2019 📬❄️📦
0
Please be positive and constructive with your questions and comments.

Re: c0nb0x

by antto on Fri Jun 08, 2012 5:07 pm

(assuming the serial port is correct) did you propperly ran the x0xb0x in bootload mode?
We are here too: irc.freenode.net >>> #x0xb0x
..:: c0nb0x v1.00 ::.. http://forums.adafruit.com/viewtopic.php?f=7&t=29282 (new control app - win/osx)
VCO Tuning: http://forums.adafruit.com/viewtopic.php?f=12&t=24759 (do it the EASY way)

antto
 
Posts: 1632
Joined: Thu Apr 15, 2010 3:21 pm
Location: 127.0.0.1

Re: c0nb0x

by gompie on Fri Jun 08, 2012 5:41 pm

I switched to bootloader and switched the x0x off and on, thats it right?
gompie
 
Posts: 28
Joined: Mon May 28, 2012 2:07 pm

Re: c0nb0x

by antto on Fri Jun 08, 2012 6:16 pm

yes.. hm
does Connect to x0xb0x work?
We are here too: irc.freenode.net >>> #x0xb0x
..:: c0nb0x v1.00 ::.. http://forums.adafruit.com/viewtopic.php?f=7&t=29282 (new control app - win/osx)
VCO Tuning: http://forums.adafruit.com/viewtopic.php?f=12&t=24759 (do it the EASY way)

antto
 
Posts: 1632
Joined: Thu Apr 15, 2010 3:21 pm
Location: 127.0.0.1

Re: c0nb0x

by Luap on Sat Jun 09, 2012 12:24 am

Ok, a little late, but I finally got to try it with my x0xb0xes, and unfortunately, I get exactly the same problem as gompie.
I tried another USB port, and even another x0xb0x (I got 2), with the same result :|
c0nb0x sees the port, but doesn't seem to actually connect to the x0xb0x itself in any way.
Luap
 
Posts: 363
Joined: Wed Jul 08, 2009 7:10 pm
Location: London'ish. UK

Re: c0nb0x

by gompie on Sat Jun 09, 2012 5:11 am

antto wrote:yes.. hm
does Connect to x0xb0x work?


No, unfortunately also not...
I'm going to try if I get it to work on a windows machine, to rule out something wrong with my x0xb0x....
gompie
 
Posts: 28
Joined: Mon May 28, 2012 2:07 pm

Re: c0nb0x

by antto on Sat Jun 09, 2012 6:20 am

when you chose Connect to x0xb0x - what does it do? does it say it can't open the port, or does it wait for some reply from the x0x which takes forever?
We are here too: irc.freenode.net >>> #x0xb0x
..:: c0nb0x v1.00 ::.. http://forums.adafruit.com/viewtopic.php?f=7&t=29282 (new control app - win/osx)
VCO Tuning: http://forums.adafruit.com/viewtopic.php?f=12&t=24759 (do it the EASY way)

antto
 
Posts: 1632
Joined: Thu Apr 15, 2010 3:21 pm
Location: 127.0.0.1

Re: c0nb0x

by gompie on Sat Jun 09, 2012 7:26 am

antto wrote:when you chose Connect to x0xb0x - what does it do? does it say it can't open the port, or does it wait for some reply from the x0x which takes forever?


When I do that, first I get the information: "Ping.... BAD" and then its waiting for an answer (which takes forever) in the following mode:
Image

Then when I tell the c0nb0x to Skip, it says the following:
Image

The Windows version of c0nb0x reacts the same btw! So I guess it's my x0xb0x that does not respond in bootload mode. The c0nb0x program reacts exactly the same if I put the x0xb0x in another mode (say 'computer control' or 'midi play')
gompie
 
Posts: 28
Joined: Mon May 28, 2012 2:07 pm

Re: c0nb0x

by antto on Sat Jun 09, 2012 8:37 am

by these symptoms, it looks like the app doesn't get any data on the serial port at all
this could happen if:
1) the port is incorrect
2) port IS correct, but x0x is OFF
3) some of the port settings are not correct

for case #3 - the app should set the all the port settings needed, except for the baudrate (which is user selectable, in this case it's correct - 19200)
hm...

EDIT: the only thing i could think of is.. if you have some spare time and can get in the IRC channel (see my signature) i can recompile the win32 version and we can debug it to see what's wrong
We are here too: irc.freenode.net >>> #x0xb0x
..:: c0nb0x v1.00 ::.. http://forums.adafruit.com/viewtopic.php?f=7&t=29282 (new control app - win/osx)
VCO Tuning: http://forums.adafruit.com/viewtopic.php?f=12&t=24759 (do it the EASY way)

antto
 
Posts: 1632
Joined: Thu Apr 15, 2010 3:21 pm
Location: 127.0.0.1

Re: c0nb0x

by altitude on Sat Jun 09, 2012 9:46 am

good work! Really great to see this come to fruition. Are you going to keep the DOS interface or move to something more contemporary?

Works fine here on win7 64bit

altitude
 
Posts: 995
Joined: Wed May 11, 2005 5:17 pm

Re: c0nb0x

by antto on Sat Jun 09, 2012 10:29 am

i spent a lot of time to achieve this "DOS interface" :wink:
it's simple enough, and still very tweakable
it's harder for me to make a GUI application (you know, one with dialogs and widgets..)

thanks! i hope it's more reliable than c0ntr0l
We are here too: irc.freenode.net >>> #x0xb0x
..:: c0nb0x v1.00 ::.. http://forums.adafruit.com/viewtopic.php?f=7&t=29282 (new control app - win/osx)
VCO Tuning: http://forums.adafruit.com/viewtopic.php?f=12&t=24759 (do it the EASY way)

antto
 
Posts: 1632
Joined: Thu Apr 15, 2010 3:21 pm
Location: 127.0.0.1

Re: c0nb0x

by gompie on Sat Jun 09, 2012 11:12 am

antto wrote:by these symptoms, it looks like the app doesn't get any data on the serial port at all
this could happen if:
1) the port is incorrect
2) port IS correct, but x0x is OFF
3) some of the port settings are not correct

for case #3 - the app should set the all the port settings needed, except for the baudrate (which is user selectable, in this case it's correct - 19200)
hm...

EDIT: the only thing i could think of is.. if you have some spare time and can get in the IRC channel (see my signature) i can recompile the win32 version and we can debug it to see what's wrong


Thanks for the offer, I have no idea how to setup a user account with IRC :(
And I also tried c0ntr0l, which also had a problem connecting to my x0xb0x. I'm afraid it's not the program that needs recompiling, but a fault in my x0xb0x causing this.

The port setting is correct, I see it appear and disappear on a mac and on a pc when I connect and disconnect the USB connector. The ones that appear are the ones I use.
gompie
 
Posts: 28
Joined: Mon May 28, 2012 2:07 pm

Re: c0nb0x

by Luap on Sat Jun 09, 2012 11:29 am

gompie wrote:
Thanks for the offer, I have no idea how to setup a user account with IRC :(
And I also tried c0ntr0l, which also had a problem connecting to my x0xb0x. I'm afraid it's not the program that needs recompiling, but a fault in my x0xb0x causing this.

The port setting is correct, I see it appear and disappear on a mac and on a pc when I connect and disconnect the USB connector. The ones that appear are the ones I use.


c0ntr0l is crappy at the best of times. But it usually gets the job done eventually.
As I mentioned though, I have exactly the same problem as you with c0nb0x on my Mac, and thats with 2 different x0xb0xes that I know work fine.
If you happen to have a ModeMachines or TechnologyTransplant x0xb0x though, then it may be missing the bootloader on the MCU, which would also cause the problem you are experiencing.

Meanwhile, i'll keep trying..
I think we also need more people to give this a go and test it! :?
Luap
 
Posts: 363
Joined: Wed Jul 08, 2009 7:10 pm
Location: London'ish. UK

Re: c0nb0x

by antto on Sat Jun 09, 2012 12:39 pm

even if the bootloader isn't there - there shouldn't be any problem with "Connect to x0xb0x" as that "talks" with the Firmware and not the bootloader

altho, i'm not sure about very old versions of the stock firmware, have no idea if they had the same serial protocol at all, i assume everyone has at least adafruit 1.05 or sokkos (which is derived from it)
We are here too: irc.freenode.net >>> #x0xb0x
..:: c0nb0x v1.00 ::.. http://forums.adafruit.com/viewtopic.php?f=7&t=29282 (new control app - win/osx)
VCO Tuning: http://forums.adafruit.com/viewtopic.php?f=12&t=24759 (do it the EASY way)

antto
 
Posts: 1632
Joined: Thu Apr 15, 2010 3:21 pm
Location: 127.0.0.1

Re: c0nb0x

by Luap on Sat Jun 09, 2012 1:19 pm

Thats true Antto.. So I figured I would try the "Computer Control" functions. And they worked. I then went to try the boot loader firmware updater again, and then that worked too! :D
But technically, I didn't do anything different at all in order to try uploading the firmware. I'll do some more digging around.
Still, even if it's a bit shaky, it sure was nice to get firmware into my x0x via a Mac for a change! Thats been a long time coming.. :wink:
Luap
 
Posts: 363
Joined: Wed Jul 08, 2009 7:10 pm
Location: London'ish. UK

Re: c0nb0x

by antto on Sat Jun 09, 2012 1:54 pm

so now it started working?
We are here too: irc.freenode.net >>> #x0xb0x
..:: c0nb0x v1.00 ::.. http://forums.adafruit.com/viewtopic.php?f=7&t=29282 (new control app - win/osx)
VCO Tuning: http://forums.adafruit.com/viewtopic.php?f=12&t=24759 (do it the EASY way)

antto
 
Posts: 1632
Joined: Thu Apr 15, 2010 3:21 pm
Location: 127.0.0.1

Please be positive and constructive with your questions and comments.