PiGRRL 2 with Pi 3 inside. Tips and good info.

General project help for Adafruit customers

Moderators: adafruit_support_bill, adafruit

Please be positive and constructive with your questions and comments.
Raverrevolution

PiGRRL 2 with Pi 3 inside. Tips and good info.

Post by Raverrevolution »

First off I want to thank Adafruit for the PiGRRL 2 kit and for making this project fun to build.

Now I'm a Linux novice so I had to do a little bit of learning on the instructions to be able to make the PiGRRL 2 work with the Pi 3.

Before that I searched and searched and found absolutely no help to make anything easier. The best thing I had found was a locked thread here with someone posting a 16gb image that worked. The only con was that it was a painfully old version of Retropie and that since it was 16gb I couldn't easily back things up in case the SD card failed. On top of that the user that ripped the image must have used an odd SD card with more memory available, because I couldn't put it on any of my 16gb cards.

So at the risk of this thread being locked and me being banned I present the public with this;

A 4gb PiGRRL 2-Pi3-Retropie 4.0.4 image.

https://drive.google.com/open?id=0B0htQ ... FU2RUt6VUk

Please Adafruit!! Keep this up so people don't have to search far and wide since it's just about impossible to find Raspberry Pi 2s anymore.

Secondly, to get rid of all audio interference you do this;

1)Wrap the battery in copper tape and then electrical tape. Then you solder a wire from the ground of the audio circuit to the copper. It helps to solder to a random piece and then stick it to the battery so you're not soldering on the battery itself as it's dangerous.

2)Buy tiny ferrite beads and put them around the speaker wires. Ferrite beads provide EMI shielding and putting them around the speaker wires worked like a charm.

My PiGRRL 2 is completely silent now until a game plays.

adafruit2

Re: PiGRRL 2 with Pi 3 inside. Tips and good info.