Hi I am a beginner
Moderators: adafruit_support_bill, adafruit

Please be positive and constructive with your questions and comments.

Hi I am a beginner

by kellykel on Fri Jul 17, 2009 5:36 pm

Hi, is there any place to learn how to make your own circuits? Like how to use each componet.
kellykel

Re: Hi I am a beginner

by osx-addict on Fri Jul 17, 2009 5:46 pm

Try this link for starters.. About as good as any other but I'm sure someone else will chime in..
osx-addict

by zener on Fri Jul 17, 2009 6:24 pm

kellykel wrote:Hi, is there any place to learn how to make your own circuits? Like how to use each componet.

Technical school or college.

zener

by John_NY on Fri Jul 17, 2009 8:57 pm

Zener wrote:Technical school or college.

Taking a laboratory course is a good way to learn. If you are self-driven you could try MIT's Open Course Ware High School-level "Practical Electronics" course (MIT OCW is a free service of MIT) :
http://ocw.mit.edu/OcwWeb/Special-Progr ... /index.htm

I've not used it yet but I might check it out as a refresher. I'm in a similar situation -- I learned Electronics as part of my Physics major, but it was certainly not an engineering course, and I spent but one semester in a laboratory. There are many options for starting out (depending on your budget), and you'll find plenty of suggestions online of what components you should play with to start.
I'd suggest
Digital Multimeter -- ONe that can measure Resistance, Voltage, Diodes, with a Short-Circuit alarm function, and if you can afford it, Capacitance (I didn't get one of those)
Full sized breadboard -- will run you about 12 bucks and may include wires
DC Power supply -- Ladyada sells one for $15.
Breadboarding Wires -- Ladyada sells a pack for $6
Resistors: Radio Shack sells a 500x pack of the 12-series, as does SparkFun. They'll run you $12 to $15.
Capacitors: Radio shack sells useless sizes in their grab bag (mostly 10 picofarad capacitors) -- find a better selection elsewhere.