BTTF Time Clock Trouble (wheelchair halloween costume)

General project help for Adafruit customers

Moderators: adafruit_support_bill, adafruit

Please be positive and constructive with your questions and comments.
Wellington_p_funk

BTTF Time Clock Trouble (wheelchair halloween costume)

Post by Wellington_p_funk »

Howdy all,

I'm a volunteer with Magic Wheelchair. We make halloween costumes for kids who use wheelchairs. We're building a Back to the Future DeLorean costume for one of our kids, which is how I stumbled across the Teensy-powered BTTF Time Circuit Clock project.

I'll admit, I'm a complete newbie to projects like this. But I bought all the hardware, a breadboard, and a soldering iron, and I've been teaching myself how to build circuits. It's going slowly but well! I've learned to solder, I've run some basic code on the Teensy 2.0, and I've done a number of tutorial projects using the Teensy and the 7-segment LED displays.

But now I'm trying to put together the BTTF clock circuit, and I'm absolutely stumped on something. Looking at this diagram:

... I can't figure out for the life of me how I'm supposed to connect the Chronodot, the 74HC138 3-to-8 line decoder, and the Teensy to each other. I've got the 7-segment LED displays and their backpacks assembled, and they're all wired up (on my breadboard) for power and data. But the left side of the diagram (the SDA and SCL traces and the two blue traces labeled "Select" coming from the left side of the 3-to-8 line decoder) have me completely befuddled. The fact that the Chronodot doesn't appear anywhere on this diagram also has me stumped.

Does anyone have an idea of how to connect the Teensy to the Chronodot to the 3-to-8? I know I'm jumping head-first into the deep end by selecting this as my first circuit-building project. If I was doing this for myself, I'd start simple and work my way up to this. But you try saying no to a kid who wants to be a DeLorean for halloween.

adafruit_support_mike