๐Ÿ“ฃ๐Ÿ“ช ๐Ÿšš Adafruit will not be shipping USPS orders Monday January 20, 2020 ๐Ÿ—“. Expedited USPS orders placed after 11am ET ๐Ÿ•š Friday January 17 will go out Tuesday January 21 ๐Ÿ“ฃ๐Ÿ“ช๐Ÿšš

Buttons
Moderators: adafruit_support_bill, adafruit

Please be positive and constructive with your questions and comments.

Buttons

by kotchi on Mon Sep 07, 2009 10:57 pm

First i would like to add that i am really new to all this, so bear with me.

I'm having trouble with some buttons.
I understand how the tact switch that comes with the arduino works. It switches beetwen grounded (G) and 5 volv (V), deciding wich one will be connected to the digital I/O.
Now i'm building a small project where i'm planning on using larger buttons than small tact switches.

The one i have looks like this.
With only 2 legs, opens when pushed, closed otherwise. Now the problem i have is that i can only connect it to either G or V because one leg always needs to go to the I/O.

Now i tried connecting one to V and the other one to I/O but i can never get any good HIGH or LOW readings. Sometimes i can push it once and it switches between HIGH and LOW, but wont work the second time i push it. Or it just switches between HIGH/LOW like crazy.

Is there a way to get a good read from these kind of switches or am i using it wrong, or is there some other kind of button more suitable for this kind of work.

Any help would be appreciated.
kotchi

Re: Buttons

by len17 on Tue Sep 08, 2009 12:18 am

You need to use a pull-up or pull-down resistor so that the input pin isn't left "floating" when the switch is open.

The Arduino conveniently has a built-in pull-up resistor for each input pin, but you have to add a line of code to turn it on. Then you can connect the switch from the input pin to ground. Here's a sketch that shows how it works:

Code: Select all | TOGGLE FULL SIZE
#define pinInSwitch 5

void setup()
{
  Serial.begin(57600);
  pinMode(pinInSwitch, INPUT);